We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Mr. Leith McGuire is a great ambassador for your hotel. He is a diligent worker who responds quickly whenever we are in need of something in the Club Lounge. His attentive service greatly increases the quality of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how well you were treated by our staff. We are pleased to hear that you received such great service from Mr. McGuire. His efforts will not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    107
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
44
73
41
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, sc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had a great experience. typically I stay at the Marriott but they were booked so I figured I'd stay next door. I was pleasantly surprised they took customer service to the next level. theres 3 elevators so there wasnt a long wait eventhough there was a wedding, college basket ball game and a gala going on in the area. If you stay here make sure you ask about the "club floors" which there are actually 3 floors. On those floors you get free wine, food and breakfast. Theres three bars on site and one of them is on the roof overlooking the city and on some weekends they have a live band or a Dj (enjoyed that). I loved the wood floors in the rooms it gave a refined look. I couldnt believe there was a flat screen TV in the bathroom, loved it. I also enjoyed watching TV while taking a shower with the big head dual shower heads.I would like to give special mention to Jerrica, and Khalil for helping me decide on a room their customer service was superior. Khalil stopped what he was doing to show me around and Jerrica made my check in smooth sailing. If you want the ultimate experience get a suite like i did with the leather couch. Reflecting back on choosing between the two hotels I definately made the right choice, and Ill be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Drew, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our bars, restaurants and our Club Lounge at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you loved the decor of our rooms. The television in the bathroom seems to be a favorite among our guests. We are excited that we have made a repeat guest. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great staff who is there to answer any question. Rooms are nice nd stand up shower with two shower heads is great!! Parking is horrible though, shared with Marriott next door and the parking garage elevator reeks of pee.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that our staff was friendly and helpful. We strive to give our guests the best experience possible while staying with us. The parking situation comes up quite a bit. We are located in the middle of downtown Columbia, which limits our parking options. I will address the parking situation with the staff. We are trying to work on a better scenario. Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great location in downtown columbia. Wonderful ambience from a building that was once a bank. Rooms are slightly small compared to the size of the bathrooms! Fitness center left a lot to be desired: one of the treadmills was broken as was the clock, the space was cramped, and there were no mats to use on the floor. When I arrived myself and my associate were told that our room came with free breakfast on the mezzanine leve, but the next morning we were told that wasn't the case. The restaurant was understaffed in the morning and the staff was more focused on room service orders. When we complained about the fact we did not receive free breakfast we were given access to the club lounge which was very small and most of the food was gone at 8:00 am. Staff in the lounges were extremely courteous and did a great job hats off to Lilly and Nikki S. they made what could have been a bad stay better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you dealt with. We will bring attention to the fitness center needs to make sure to avoid future issues there. We also apologize for the miscommunication with our staff regarding your complimentary breakfast. We would like a chance to make it up to you. Would mind calling us, so we know who you are and what we can do to make up for your breakfast experience? We are pleased that our staff treated you well and made your stay better. We look forward to hearing from you, and hope to have you back. 803-476-0279
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We are 4 couples from Canada staying at this hotel April 9 to the 14 th, celebrating our anniversarys and playing a litttle golf. I always stay at Sheratons whenever possible, I know we will have a very comfortable bed in a nice hotel with great staff. I'm hoping that we will be put on the club floor. Has anyone had any experience with this happening at this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We look forward to having you stay with us in April. If you would call us and let us know your confirmation numbers, we would be happy to upgrade your rooms to the Club Level. 803-476-0279.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on business 3 nights per month over the past 3 years. SPG-Platinum. In the last 6 months, customer service has improved vastly at the front desk and the club floor lounge (delicious food and friendly staff). It has made this hotel one that I look forward to visiting. Unique boutique rooms, great downtown views, tv's in the bathroom and comfortable beds. Thanks from a frequent hotel guest, Great job!
Only negative - $22.00 valet parking per night is too expensive.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your frequent stays with us. It is great to hear that you have noticed improvements in service. We are continuously looking for ways to better our hotel to give our guests the best experiences possible. I will address the valet issue and see if there is anything we can do to lower the rate. Thank you again for your comment. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I can't get over the staff here. They are unbelievably accomodating and really know the meaning of customer service. Denise is so kind and Leith in the lounge is a pleasure every day. Lilly in the Vault is great as well. This is the only hotel I will stay at in Columbia, Sc. The rooms are clean and comfortable as well and the location is great!

Room Tip: Ask for club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that your experience with our hotel was superb. It is also great to hear that our staff treated you so well. Our intention is to give our guests the best service and care while they are our guest. We look forward to having you back. It appears as if we will be seeing more of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.