We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sheraton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Atlanta, Georia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Sheraton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I can't get over the staff here. They are unbelievably accomodating and really know the meaning of customer service. Denise is so kind and Leith in the lounge is a pleasure every day. Lilly in the Vault is great as well. This is the only hotel I will stay at in Columbia, Sc. The rooms are clean and comfortable as well and the location is great!

Room Tip: Ask for club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that your experience with our hotel was superb. It is also great to hear that our staff treated you so well. Our intention is to give our guests the best service and care while they are our guest. We look forward to having you back. It appears as if we will be seeing more of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    115
    53
    19
    12
See reviews for
48
77
42
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I just wanted to say that the staff at this hotel is wonderful!!! From the moment I walked in the door to the moment I left the staff was very accommodating and went above and beyond(especially Garett)!! The rooms were very clean and I hope to come back and try out the Rooftop bar!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It is so great to hear how much you enjoyed your visit at our hotel. We strive to give our guests the best experiences, so we are pleased to hear that our staff is following through. Please come back and try out our Rooftop bar. It really is a unique spot in Columbia. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Arm, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Quality hotel in a cool building. rooms are big, clean and modern. Expectations for hotel restaurants are low. This one met my expectations on food and exceeded it staff friendliness! Nikki in the restaurant bar and Lillie in the Main bar are excellent! Makes you want to come back!

Fitness center is a 1/2 broken. Big issue that need to be addressed.

Room Tip: king beds rule....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that our restaurants and service exceeded your expectations. We will address that fitness center issues. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times as they have government rate rooms. I appreciate the staff and valet service. Heather Davis was particularly helpful on one occasion where I was going to be inconvenienced and she made sure that my stay was as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: Double rooms are very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We are pleased that our staff was attentive to your needs and made your visit more enjoyable. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton last weekend for a business trip. I travel every week and I was AMAZED at the level of service the staff gives its customers. Heather Davis at the front desk went much above and beyond to make sure that my stay was as pleasant as possible. We had several issues with our event (unrelated to the hotel) and every evening she made sure that we were taken care of. I hope I come back next year for the same event, purley because of my experience with the Sheraton staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. It pleases us very much when we hear that our staff is taking such great care of our guests. We are happy that you had such a great experience and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a business trip to Columbia and the Hilton, where I typically stay, was booked, so I thought I'd try the Sheraton. I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were comfortable and plush. The television in the bathroom was nice. Parking takes a few minutes since it's valet only, but the valets are friendly and prompt. Nikki S in the tavern restaurant in the hotel was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you during your business trip. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The TV in the bathroom seems to be a favorite among guests. I'm glad the bed was comfortable, and that you received great service from our staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us during future business trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

First time visiting downtown Columbia and walked into the Sheraton without a reservation. Kate at the front desk gave me a warm greeting. She had a pleasant spunk about her and even signed me up for the rewards program. I look forward to coming back to the Sheraton for a longer stay. The vault and rooftop bars are a great place to have a night cap as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are so excited that you had such a great experience at our hotel. It is always great to hear that our staff is taking such great care of our guests. We look forward to having you back. It seems as if we'll be seeing more of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Columbia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.