We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
okatie sc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My one night stay here was just great. Nice, clean, quiet room with a view of beautiful trees. Such a friendly, efficient staff made the stay wonderful. It was so convenient to everything -- I walked all over, and Columbia isn't much of a city, but the Art Museum was very good.
I'd recommend the club membership with dinner and breakfast -- all day coffee, snacks and a gorgeous sunrise. If I ever go to Columbia again, I'd certainly stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We strive to make our guests feel welcome and have the best experiences possible. It is great to hear that you took advantage of all that Club Lounge has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    130
    64
    27
    17
See reviews for
61
89
42
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Check in was fast, room was clean and had that boutique feel. Only problems were a broken handle on the shower door, no cable and a broken alarm clock. For a hotel that looks so nice and has such a great staff, including Lauren or Stormy (sorry, asked at the front desk but they weren't sure of who was working the morning of November 19) who was very nice and helpful with breakfast in the Club Lounge. Hopefully the rooms will be completely fixed with working cable the next time I pass through Columbia.

Room Tip: Ask if everything works in the room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was friendly and helpful. We will make sure that our rooms are more closely inspected, so to avoid this situation in the future. We look forward to having you stay with us again. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Old building, creaky rooms not renovated enough to be first class. However,my main objection was trying to order room service from the "Midnight Snack" section of the in-room menu, which stated that it was available until 12:00am. Tried ordering at 11:20pm and was advised by disinterested front desk staff that room service ceased at 11:00pm. When I referred them to the in-room menu (which clearly stated service was available until midnight), and asked to speak to the manager on duty, I was advised there was no manager present. Although I am a Starwood Platinum member, I would recommend the Columbia Marriott or Hilton before this property.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are always eager to receive feedback from our guests about their stay at our hotel. Unfortunately, their experiences are sometimes unpleasant. We apologize for the situation you had with our room service and front desk staff member. We assure you that we will address this issue with our staff, so we can avoid similar situations in the future. We do our best to give our guests the service they deserve, and it is disappointing to hear that you were less than satisfied with us. Again, we apologize and we will use this feedback to better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We always stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel when we stay overnight in Columbia. The club lounge and rooms are amazing. The roof top bar is awesome for meeting up with family and friends and offers an amazing view of the dontown skyline. The staff is extra freindly and quick to help out in any way that I can. We have stayed here 5 times and never had a bad experience. I can't think of a better hotel to stay out while in downtown Columbia, SC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville, ar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are needing a downtown hotel this Sheraton is a good fit....the breakfast was good and the check in was fast and easy.....parking is free on the weekends....tv in bathrooms and large tv in bedroom....very clean and nice......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel itself is in great shape, with adequately sized rooms with some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The rooftop and Vault bars provide guests with two very solid entertainment options, while the location gives one easy access to all major points in the city.

By far the best part of this hotel is its incredible, amazing, caring and upbeat staff. From the minute you check in, you meet the friendly and accommodating faces in the lobby. Robyn, Kiara, and all the other familiar faces make sure every single detail of the guest's room request is met and handled with care. The starbucks coffee station in the lobby is tended by the efficient Kelly and Sara depending on the time of day, whom I more than enjoy interacting with on a regular basis. Upstairs in the Club Lounge, one will find some of the most dedicated staff in the building whose only wish, it seems, is to make each and every guest satisfied with their breakfast or dinner. Leith, Lauren, Stormy, and Brittany are just some of the faces you will meet up there, and I assure you they will not rest until your appetite is satiated.

The building itself is unique and comfortable, but what makes this an outstanding hotel are the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It is always great to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to mention, by name, the staff members who helped make your stay a pleasant one. We take pride in knowing that our staff is taking care of the many guests we have on our property. We appreciate your kind words and your business. We look forward to your future visits with The Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton for a concert in downtown Columbia. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is old and beautiful. The receptionist was very helpful. We chose the Sheraton, because it was close to where the concert was being held, and we wanted to walk where we went. She told us about a parking garage one block away that was 1$ an hour, but free on Saturday. So, we parked Friday afternoon, left Saturday morning, and didn't have to pay anything! You do not have to pay 22$ for valet if you don't mind walking a block, and you can park in front of the hotel to unload.
When we got to the room, it was very small, but it was plenty of room for us. The only problem I had is we could hear everything! Every door closing, every step anyone took, every time someone spoke. I didn't even want to use the restroom in fear someone would hear me! I woke up every time someone made a noise. The floors are hardwood, so the footsteps were loud! Also, when we returned from the concert, we wanted a snack and a drink. They have no vending machines! The receptionist said she had a few snack choices, but no drinks. She had crackers and cookies. We were very disappointed.
So, the hotel has a great location, great atmosphere, but its horrible if you actually want to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We appreciate your feedback about your stay with us. We are always eager to hear about the experiences of our guests, so we can continue to improve the operation of our hotel. We are pleased that your overall stay with us seemed to be a positive experience. We do apologize for the noise situation you dealt with. We are a boutique hotel with hard wood floors and, unfortunately, sound does travel more than it would with traditional carpeted guest rooms. We hope you will consider staying with us again during future visit to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.