We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I travel to Columbia for business about once a month and I always stay at the Sheraton. The staff is always very friendly and professional and the rooms are beautiful. Since this is an older building that has been remodeled, each room has a little bit of a different layout, which is cool. Its right in the middle of downtown - close to restaurants, Publix, etc and the view from many of the rooms are awesome! Also, when you firt arrive, it looks like the only parking option is valet, but there is a garage right next to the hotel (on the corner of Washington and Assembly). I usually park briefly in the metered spots on the street to check in and get my bags inside, and then I move my car into the garage. I usually leave the hotel at 8:30am and so far in my 5 visits there has never been an attendant and the garage is open, so there has not been any charge for parking. The rooms also have large desks, which makes a great workspace. Also, the bathrooms have flatscreen TVs on the wall, which is just awesome in general. I'm planning another trip to Columbia tomorrow and I will be staying at the Sheraton!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    130
    64
    27
    17
See reviews for
61
89
42
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

While the location of the Sheraton is extremely convenient for those on business in the downtown core, I was not impressed overall. Although I was on a high floor, street noise was horrible. The interior lacks sufficient soundproofing, so you hear conversations and televisions from adjacent rooms. Wooden floors in the guest rooms look good, but they do nothing to help deaden noise. It sounded like someone was tap-dancing in the room above, whenever they walked around wearing shoes. White tile floors in a hotel are a bad idea, unless the rooms are thouroughly cleaned. The bathroom floor had an abundance of hair from prior guests. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I specifically chose this hotel because it is a Starwood property. I normally choose the Marriott nearby but in recent years the Marriott has declined somewhat. My first impression upon arrival was of the college aged Valet attendant. Don't get me wrong, I have encountered many exceptional college employees but it was obvious this one was bored and not excited to have to actually work. I had to ask him to please get me a cart and then practically beg him to assist me in getting my luggage to my room. Checking in was no better. First, the only person at the desk made me feel like an inconvenience. I am also a Platinum Starwood Guest and am used to the spill one gets upon checking in. I didn't get any of it. I asked if I was going to get an upgrade and the employee was rude about it, but did find me one. I also asked if he could go ahead and cue the key for late checkout. Another inconvenience for him. Finally arriving at my room, the keys did not work. I used the house phone to call the desk and was told when he had a moment he would come with new keys. Then, realizing I had the valet guy, he said to send him. He really didn't want to so I told him I would tip him if he did. Thirty minutes after arrival, I was in my room. I immediately headed to the club lounge for a glass of wine only to discover it was not in operation and after calling the desk found out it would not be at all. News Flash, it should not have been offered on the internet because I booked my room (with a higher price tag) for that reason. I was given vouchers to use instead. I headed to the rooftop bar where I found my first bright spot. The view is incredible and the bartender was exactly what Starwood represents. She was spot on. However, she is the one who told me that they only open the club lounge when a corporate company books out the rooms. Wow. I felt lied to almost. Plus, the drink voucher was only good for one glass at 5.00. They definitely got money off of me and offered nothing in return.
The room was incredibly small and seemed way too similar to the corner king room I actually booked and was on the lowest floor. I am not sure I got an upgrade in reality. The bathroom was the best part of the room. Shower was clean and spacious. The bed was exactly as I expected.
Breakfast was okay but on time and it turned out my so called voucher didn't apply to room delivered breakfast.
When it came time to check out, I had to get my own cart and move my own items - no help was offered and again another college kid was in charge but was better than the one I encountered upon arrival.
I was highly disappointed in the lack of protocol following what I have come to expect from Starwood. There is a reason I am loyal to the brand. I will choose this property again, but will be better prepared and book the cheapest room and travel light knowing I will be responsible for getting them to my room. I know this is not the highest tier in the property but it is also not the lowest but I have received better treatment from lower properties. I advise Starwood to do a crash course with the staff of this hotel or they may see their profits go awry.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

First the good....this is a great location for fun or business in Columbia. Its a cool old building thats been retro fitted by Starwood.

The bad...I have stayed here many times. The same problems that existed on day #1 still do today. Its the loudest hotel in America. I stayed on the 14th floor and I could clearly hear a conversation on the street below. You can hear everything...sirens, dogs, people. You can hear the TV next door, you can hear the guest below you taking a shower...its nuts. Also, the wood floors may look cool....but were not installed well. These are not antique floors, these are the news one installed for the hotel a few years ago. They squeak and creek and you can hear all you neighbors moving around all night long.
The staff, while friendly, are almost always clueless. The parking is pretty bad. Slow, expensive valet or you have to drive around and hunt for a meter on Main Street.
I assume they can't replace the walls, or the windows or the floors....but if they did, this would be a better hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Sheration Columbia Downtown.
THe rooms were clean, the restuarants were good and the service was outstanding.
From the moment our car was unloaded thru check in the clerks were great. One particular person at check in was Matt Owens - he was extremely helpful when we encountered any problem or needed directions. This is the third time we have stayed at this Sheraton and it will not the last.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room over looking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColaSheraton, Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you had a wonderful stay with us, and I am so glad to hear how great the customer service was. I will make sure to let Matt know what a wonderful job he did and continues to do.

Thank you,

Parke Espy
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I'm a pilot living in hotels half the month.. The whole staff was amazing and I would bring my whole family here!!!! AMAZING service and professionalism!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Great service and eminities. Rooftop bar, and location were of special note.
Would highly recommend to all business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColaSheraton, Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! I'm pleased to here that you had the opportunity to enjoy the Roof Top and the restoration of our 1913 bank building. Again thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.