We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing better than real Southern soul food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lizard's Thicket Restaurant

Lizard's Thicket Restaurant
818 Elmwood Ave, Columbia, SC 29201-2027
803-779-6407
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 824 restaurants in Columbia
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Fort Wayne Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing better than real Southern soul food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I am surprised this restaurant wasn't ranked higher, the food was delicious and the service was fast. We happened upon the place because we were stranded at the Best Western across the street. We decided to to over foe lunch one day and sure glad we did. It was the best meal of our trip to South Carolina. The place is clearly a favorite to locals and even with a bus full of military folks eating in the back room our food was out quickly. It was good, inexpensive food. I would say an average cost with drink was about $10 per person. Make sure you get some sweet tea too. Delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    59
    34
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stoped for Mother's day lunch. Altho busy we were greeted and seated right away. Extensive menu of traditional favorites. Service was timely. Food was good. Prices were extremely reasonable (example - A fried pork chop, mashed potatoes, fried Okra, peach cobbler and sweet tea cost $11.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Southern Cuisine/Soul Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the food was prepared fairly quickly, but it was quite good. Lizards Thickets has some healthy choices, but not much. I had the fried pork chop, collard greens, and macaroni and cheese. Excellent food, the breakfast was really good to. Fried Catfish and Cheese Eggs.....wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanahan, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking! Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very good southern home cooked meals. The people were very friendly. We felt like we were at a friend's house. Three vegetables and a meat plus a drink for around $10.00. My husband and I both had fried chicken. We were served a very large breast that was crispy and very moist inside. All the food was very good and there was more than enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Country Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The dinners included a meat and three vegetables and there was an excellent selection on the menu. We had catfish and flounder and both were very crisp and tasted good.

The vegetables are seasoned and are wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizard's Thicket Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lizard's Thicket Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizard's Thicket Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.