We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent do not miss this hidden jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inakaya Japanese Restaurant

Inakaya Japanese Restaurant
224 Oneil Ct, Columbia, SC 29223-7649
(803) 699-2626
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 840 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent do not miss this hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I go here all the time and the owner takes great pride in his food!!!
People stop here from all over for their sushi and also for their soup. Do not miss their Red Dragon roll or their tuna salad. Their fish is always fresh and so many locals go there. They are open on for lunch and dinner. Rio the owner is great and will make sure you get great service and sushi. They make some awesome rolls!! It does not look like a great place in a strip mall right off the interstate but you will be in for a pleasant surprise. Trust me on this one.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Make Valentines Weekend Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Want a romantic evening with your honey this Valentines? Come join us this Valentine weekend!!

$14.99 Valentine Special: An assortment of a roll and sashimi with 2 complimentary glass of house wine or bottle of sake!!

Offered only on Valentines weekend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great sushi at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Impressed by the level of service received and the food was good. We sat at the sushi bar and so were entertained by the three wonderful guys making the sushi.

One of my pet peeves with sushi restaurants is the poor quality of the sushi rice but here the sushi rice was on point. They have many choices and the fish is fresh and the rolls speak for themselves.

3 rolls and sake came to about $30 so they are not that expensive. Speciality roll prices are around $9 and so you can make it a great evening out without breaking the bank.

Would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We frequent sushi restaurants, but don't get to this part of town very often. We stopped in on Friday night and were glad that we did. We were seated very quickly and server was prompt with drinks and taking our order. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. We could hear the chatter from the sushi bar where the chefs were happily chatting with those seated at the bar and with customers as they came in and left. Sushi came quickly and was fresh and nicely presented. It is obvious these folks make an effort to bring customers back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I Have Had in a Long Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Of all places, Columbia, SC, who would ever imagine that you would find Sushi this fresh, creative and overall delicious.

I was in town on a business trip and just happened to stumble on this restaurant. I used to live in Tokyo and consider myself a bit of a snob when it comes to sushi. The chef here is from Osaka and is quite entertaining. The sashimi was fresh and well presented, and all of the rolls were to die for. I would love to go back with a large crowd so that I can order a wider variety and taste more rolls.

A must if you are in the area. Note this place is located in a strip center that is about 50% occupied, but don't let that stop you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inakaya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Inakaya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inakaya Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.