We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time enjoy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sumo Japenese Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sumo Japenese Steak House
151 Clemson Rd, Columbia, SC 29229
(803) 788-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #492 of 839 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Winnsboro, South Carolina
1 review
“first time enjoy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My daughter took me there for my birthday. I had never been or eaten Japanese food before in my life. the food were cook right in from of you the cook he was very nice and the food were good and you get your money worth. .It was experience that I had never had before. I will be going back..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Group Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had a large group, 19 people. Called ahead for a reservation. They didn't sit us until everyone was there. Good food and not too expensive for a Japanese Steak House.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food is great but service is terrible.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Server rolled her eyes and sucked her teeth because we spent 3 minutes deciding. Desert was served immediately after hibachi meal was placed on plates. We spent $75, including a decent tip, but got the bums rush from the moment we were seated. That was my second and last visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A lot of food for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I ate here to do something different. It was good. The food is prepared before you and is fresh. The staff is friendly. Get there between 5 PM - 6 PM for great specials.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Japenese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

I love Sumos! I always get the same thing: the filet mignon and chicken. It is a huge amount and I can only eat half. It comes with soup, salad, rice, veggie mix and the steak and chicken. And after, you get sherbert! Its so good and the cooks are the best! They really get to have fun and entertain everybody! This is my favorite place to take a group of friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo Japenese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Sumo Japenese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumo Japenese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.