We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Columbia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Friendly's New Southern

Mr Friendly's New Southern
2001 Greene St Ste A, Columbia, SC 29205-1698
(803) 254-7828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 839 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Columbia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Always top notch service food drinks and staff . Bacon wrapped filet is the go to meal. When spring arrives the patio is the place to be

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    61
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mr. Friendly's features a fantastic Southern inspired menu, with great traditional Southern menu items like fried pickles and fried green tomatoes. The food was excellent, reasonably priced, and in a convenient location. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Business luncheon here. Food was wow! I had the fried green tomato blt with pimento cheese..again wow. Nice uptake on a southern classic. The blacked cat fish over creamy grits also got raves at the table. Will be back to try the dinner menu soon..very soon I hope.reasonably priced menu as well. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This food was amazing! I am really picky about giving out my highest praise, but I loved this place! I had blueberry-orange brined pork chop with peach chutney and a special bbq sauce - cooked to perfection! My husband had crispy trout with a carrot slaw with a cilantro, wasabi, & something dressing - to die for!
Another awesome note is that they use regional producers for their meats, eggs, flours, veggies, and fruits! Love it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Uuumm Uuummm Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

There was NOTHING that I didn't like that I tasted at Mr. Friendly's. The service was superb. This restraurant is definitely off of the beaten track, but once you find out about it you will definitely keep coming back. I had a Ribeye and it was cooked PERFECTLY!! My boyfriend loved his shrimp and grits. The salmon croquettes... can I get the recipe PLEASE!! I could go on and on seriously! Dessert was great as well. What is cute about this restaurant is just how intimate it is. Definitely going back again and will try out their sister restaurants as well!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Friendly's New Southern also viewed

 

Been to Mr Friendly's New Southern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Friendly's New Southern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.