We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mellow Mushroom
1009 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3129
803-933-9201
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 824 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
Good for: Doing business
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am very fond of the Mellow Mushroom's pizza, but they are expensive. I have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. The pizza is always good, and the beer cold. I do not list them as my favorite pizza in town (The Pizza Joint, and The Village Idiot), but I do like them a lot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    35
    41
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charleston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Grandkids like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

LOUD, loud, loud . . . and this was not a football or graduation weekend. The pizza appeals to the grandchildren, but it's way too rubbery for me. Difficult place to have a conversation. We noted that at the table for 6 next to us, all 6 were texting on their cell phones -- that was probably the best way to communicate.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere Warm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pizza and Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a very good, small chain. My son loves the pizza and always orders more than he can eat, so he can take it home and have leftovers. I love their tofu sandwich but add avocado, for an extra charge. The half is enough for me for a meal, so I do the same as my son and order a whole and have an easy meal later. We went during the lunch rush but were served quickly and efficiently. Just wish they had cleaned off the seats before seating us. Friendly staff. Good food. Inexpensive. Full of college students.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Food is to Die For!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I've been to dinner twice now and both times the food has been excellent. The flavors make your mouth sing! The first visit the service was awesome.., this last visit the server was not as sharp but the Food Made everything OKAY! A must dine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

There is an option of gluten free pizza which by the way is great!! And very good pinot noir by the glass!
The service and atmosphere were really welcoming!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.