We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbia Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbia Center to your Saves list
Hilton Columbia Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 Senate Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WEEKEND GETAWAY PACKAGE
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Varnville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Hotel was great and I would recommended it to anyone. The area is good where you have walking distance to restaurants and historical area. It is a beautiful hotel with great hospitality. I would recommend this hotel to anyone it is locate on Senate Street in Columbia, SC and it is next to Columbia Conventional Center also located to University of South Carolina(Go Gamecocks ). Love it Love it. Go visit it when you have a chance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Josetta W from Varnville,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia. I am in total agreement with you in summing up our hotel---GREAT!! We are so glad you loved the location, beautiful hotel, and great hospitality. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for your business and THANK YOU FOR THE 5 STAR REVIEW.

GO GAMECOCKS!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    129
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
127
87
34
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Overall this hotel appears to be nice! This room however should be avoided. There is a humming slash buzzing sound that comes from the roof! It varies in volume and doesn't stop all night long! My guess is it has something to do with the air conditioning. Save yourself the discomfort of a sleepless night if they try to put you in this room.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Matt H from Columbia, South Carolina,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. The Hilton Columbia Center hotel boasts an ideal location in the Congaree Vista district, Columbia’s bustling financial and entertainment hub. Discover historic architecture and elegant rooms at this stylish and sophisticated hotel in Columbia, SC. Within walking distance of Columbia's lively shops, restaurants and entertainment, this hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center and close to the historic University of South Carolina.

The Hilton Columbia Center offers a stylish setting for a special event at our AAA Four Diamond hotel. Host a meeting in one of the meeting rooms or executive boardrooms, or celebrate a special occasion in the elegant ballroom. This Columbia hotel offers a desirable space for professional business meetings, lively gala dinners and fairytale weddings, right in the heart of Columbia's thriving Vista.

Enjoy Southern cuisine at Ruth's Chris Steak House restaurant or unwind with a perfectly mixed cocktail at Ruth's Chris Bar. Relax by the outdoor pool and swim laps while watching the sun set. Enjoy a rejuvenating workout in the 24-hour fitness center or retire to a comfortable guest room with room service at this pet-friendly hotel in Columbia, SC.

We apologize that you had trouble in your room. Sometimes the AC controls have a mind of their own, but our 24 hour staff is always more than happy to show a guest how to operate the AC system. We want to make it up to you, please call the hotel at 1-800-744-7800 and ask for the manager on duty. Thank you for your business and we look forward to talking to you soon.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Everything was PERFECT!!! Fantastic hotel and staff. Many great places to dine in walking distance. Even a Starbucks! I'm not sure that I have ever stayed in a hotel with better service. I highly recommend if you are traveling to the Columbia South Carolina area.!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Sarah D from Sanford,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so thrilled everything was PERFECT!!! We love our hotel and we love serving our guests. When we hear great comments about the hotel, we know it all came together. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you again for your business and THANK YOU FOR THE 5 STAR REVIEW!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Professional, clean, and comfortable! Staff was very professional, the cleaning staff let me know that we could use our key card at certain local resturants to recieve discounts, the location was very central to a lot of resturants and sites and all within walking distance, and the bed was BEYOND comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Tasha H from beaufort,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. You summed it all up with 1 word, "AWESOME", so glad you feel the same way we do about our hotel. I will make sure to let the staff know that you thought they were very professional. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know! Thank you for your business and thank you FOR THE 5 STAR REVIEW!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

So many things that bothered me about my stay:
Dog hair all over the floor from previous guests. It looked like it had not been vacuumed at all. The bathroom floors were dirty and the maids left bottles of used lotion underneath the counters on the bathroom floor.
The view from room 216 is a brick wall and a rooftop COVERED in debris and grime. I feel that they should at least keep the surfaces clean if the guests have to look at it when they open the windows.
No one offered to help us with our luggage, and the coffee dispensers were empty in the lobby.
My husband had to study for a 3 day bar exam and the maids in the hall were talking ridiculously loud. Their voices were brash, and the topic of conversation was hardly appropriate for work.
All in all, I feel like the hotel is run lackadaisically

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Jeschiap,

Thank you for your review of the HIlton Columbia Center. As you are aware we are Ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district the Hilton® Columbia Center is the place to stay. Our Southern charm combined with all of the amenities and services needed ensure you an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us.

All of our guests can experience a new concept when staying at our Hilton® Columbia Center, STAY FIT, STAY RELAXED, STAY HAPPY! It's simple, when staying with us feel invigorated and fit by exercising at our 24-hour open state-of-art fitness center. Accessible with your room key our fitness center features Treadmill, Elliptical, Cardio Bikes, and much more, all equipped with personalized TV screens and music players. While exercising facing our pool area, you will be enticed to soak up the sun and enjoy a few refreshing laps at our beautiful outdoor saltwater pool (seasonal heating), when finished you can relax at one of our poolside tables...order some appetizers, cocktails, and as the sun sets, just do nothing at all.

After a busy day, whether working or working out, treat yourself to a nice dinner at the Ruth's Chris® Steak House Restaurant or order some delicious meals from our room service. Later in the night, unwind with your family or friends at our Lounge Bar, our menu includes beverages and cocktails, hot and cold hors d'oeuvres, different stations, and to indulge...something sweet.

The graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality make us the leader of the Columbia's lodging, the ideal setting for business and leisure travelers, experience exceptional services and amenities.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. As you probably have read---almost all of our over 300 hotel reviews and very good or excellent. We want to make sure you have the same experience as the rest of our guests and clients. Please contact us at 803-744-7800 and ask for the manager-on-duty and we will make sure all of your incidents are addressed and corrected.

Thank you for your business

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
momroe, mi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The folks we interacted with were very friendly,.professional, and helpful. Everyone greater us with a genuine smile. Gina checked us in , she made us feel like we were the most important guests they had staying with them at that moment. The room was very comfortable, the bed was fantastic. One of the best nights sleep we have had in quite some time.
Sorry to say, I have one small complaint, I drive a pickup, not all jacked up,.just a regular pickup. When entering or exiting the parking garage, the card reader could have Bennett about 3" higher, it was quite a stretch to reach it. I believe that three inches higher would have better for me, and not too high for most automobiles.
We truly enjoyed our stay at this property.
When we return to Columbia, if available, we will stay here again.
Frank and Gina

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear allswild from momoe, mi,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so glad your interaction with our staff made you feel like you were the most important guest in our hotel---that is what we try and convey to every guest that is checking into the Hilton Columbia Center. One of the best nights sleep---WOW, we are so glad as you know our Hilton features a custom-made Serta Mattress along with the finest bedding and sheets possible. If we can do anything to make your next stay even better, please let us know. Thank you for your business and THANK YOU FOR YOUR 5 STAR REVIEW!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for one night while on a business trip but I would recommend it for either personal or business travel. Great location in the middle of town and walking distance to several great dining options. I went for a run and went through an awesome park nearby down near the river. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Howard R from Oakton, Virginia

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so glad we are your recommended hotel for business and personal travel. Yes, we are located right in the middle of Columbia's nightlife entertainment and business district. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for your business and Thank for the 5 STAR REVIEW.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Address: 924 Senate Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbia Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.