We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, extremely nice and helpful staff, close to USC and many restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Columbia Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Columbia Center to your Saves list
Hilton Columbia Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   924 Senate Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Mount Dora, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very clean, extremely nice and helpful staff, close to USC and many restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family and I were at your hotel for 2 nights, 9/24 & 9/25, as my daughter was in town to perform as special guest soloist with the USC Wind Ensemble the evening of 9/25.

When we arrived from Florida on Sunday afternoon we had very little time in which to locate a store and make a much needed purchase in order to have a successful trip. Stefany stepped right up, offering her assistance without our even having to ask. She called Best Buy to see if they had what we needed. When she discovered they could not help us, she found what we needed at Radio Shack. We were able to make our purchase and get to our appt with a few minutes to spare!

In addition to this first encounter, throughout our stay she was most kind, gracious, and genuinely interested in seeing that our trip was comfortable and ultimately successful.

In this day when most are quick to complain, I just wanted you to know that you are doing something right - Stefany is a keeper!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Jim B from Mount Dora, Florida,

Thank you for your recent review on the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our award winning hotel in South Carolina. We are very happy that Stefany stepped up and was able to assist your family in getting the necessary items to make your trip and visit very successful. If we can do anything to make any future visits more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    110
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
109
75
30
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton Columbia Center and was blown away by the quality of the hotel. The hotel has a Ruth Kris' steakhouse on the property and the lobster brisque is unbelieveable. The hotel and staff are superb. The assistant general manager, Mr. Taylor, went far and above to accomodate me when he did not have too. I am so grateful that I chose to stay here and I think that this is the place to stay when visiting Columbia South Carolina. Real close to USC campus as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Clint W from Pinehurst, North Carolina,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am very pleased that you were "blown" away by the quality of the hotel. I will be sure to let the team know that you thought they were superb along with a special recognition to Taylor who made your stay great. If we can do anything to make any future visits to Columbia more enjoyable, please let us know.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton for two nights due to being in town for a wedding. The bed was wonderful. The black-out curtains made for great sleeping in. There is a Ruth Chris Steakhouse in the hotel which is used for their breakfast buffet in the morning. The buffet is very nice but you need to add it to your room when you make the reservation. It sounded like some people had not know that and were very upset with what they were charged. There is a Five Guys and a Burger place right across the street which worked nicely but also tons of other bars and restaurants in the area. Was not crazy about the 12 dollar self parking fee or 24 dollar valet...did not know that at the time we made the reservation. The hotel staff was nice and there were no problems with anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear beachpeach75 from Atlanta, Georgia,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so glad that you chose our hotel to stay at during your recent wedding. The area in which the hotel is located is know to the locals as the "Vista", the Hilton Columbia Center is situated with-in walking distance of 3 dozen bars and restaurants along with shopping and night life.

In regards to the breakfast buffet, all of our guests can choose to add it as an option in the pre-arrival confirmation email from Hilton or if you are a Hilton Honors Diamond or Gold member you will be given breakfast vouchers at check-in.

If we can do anything to make a future visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We reserved a room for three nights for a family event in Columbia. Our room was 60 degrees when we checked in. We set the thermostat to heat on high...and waited 2-1/2 hours for other family members to arrive and check in. Then it was 66. The bathroom was icy cold. My husband complained to the desk person, I believe his name was A.J., who gave him a lecture in a condescending manner, on how to operate a thermostat, and "it takes time". I heard him speaking rudely and approached the desk, and said isn't 2-1/2 hours long enough? He replied, "Lady, your husband and I were having a pleasant conversation until you interrupted". Really??!!? We left for dinner..no point in continuing this bizarre conversation. It was still cold when we returned. The next day we had early appointments, or we wouldhave checked out then. Other issues were burned out light bulbs, bad smelling soaps, lumpy pillows, no towels at the pool. We checked out a day early. No more Hilton stops for us! In all of our travels we have never had a more unpleasant stay. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Hampton Inn, just around the corner.

Room Tip: The bellhop was cheerful and friendly, the valets were pleasant and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear elinaka from kailua,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am most concerned about the misconception of the front desk staff in that I want to make sure you can return to a positive experience. Your account of our front desk does not mirror our award-winning team and is of great concern to me.

I definitely apologize for pre-arrival temperature of your room. During July we try to set our thermostats close 70 degrees for our arriving guests. As you are very aware the average temperature in July is typically 90 degrees to 100 degrees at any time of day.

My staff and I would like for you to give us another chance to correct any misconceptions that left with you from the hotel. Please contact the myself or manager on duty at 803-744-7800, as we would like to invite you back.

Thank you again and Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family stayed at the Hilton for a week while our home was undergoing water damage restoration. My husband and I were nervous about being in any hotel for that long with three young children, however, the staff went over and beyond to see that our experience was the best possible. The common spaces in the hotel are beautiful and pristine. When we walked in to the spacious room we were thrilled to see that it was not only beautiful and elegant, but spotlessly clean and unbelievably comfortable. The staff at the Hilton took our seemingly stressing situation and turned it into a fabulous experience for us all. When we have family visiting from out of town, the Hilton is the only hotel we will send them to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear threeemom from Columbia, South Carolina,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so glad that you chose our hotel for your weeklong accommodations during the restoration repair to your home in Columbia. We take pride in making sure our hotel is clean and pristine for all of our guests, if we can do anything to make a future visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved staying at this Hilton. Room was spacious and beds were very comfortable. This luxurious hotel pays close attention to detail. Beautifully decorated and maintained. The staff was very courteous and helpful. My family thoroughly enjoyed staying here and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear weis-chica from Weisbaden.

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so thrilled that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and that you will be coming back. If we can do anything to make a future visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Best Regards,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

From the minute you arrive at the hotel, you know that you are in a special place. You are greeted at the front drive by a cheerful valet and bellhop. The front desk staff are cheerful. The lobby is very attractive with elegant furniture and style. There is a business room off the lobby with free internet and business services for guests. There is also a lovely silver service set up in the lobby for coffee and tea, free for guests. The famous Ruth Chris SteakHouse is also conveniently located right off the lobby. There is an outdoor pool and workout room. The hotel is also pet friendly, but we never heard any barking or howling dogs. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable . There is an excellent parking arrangement with either valet serice for $36 a day or a second level self parking garage which allows you unlimited access in and out of the garage with your room key for $12 a day. It brings you you directly into the lobby of the hotel . The price is excellent for such a beautiful hotel, located in the old town of Columbia near the state House ,many good restaurants and shopping. A perfect stay for our three nights there and I highly recommend this to everyone staying in Columbia!!

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor give a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear jocar99 from new jersey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I really appreciate your comments on our beautiful hotel and great staff. The Hilton Columbia Center prides itself on offering first class accommodations along with a great friendly staff. Please let us know if any of your future travels bring you to Columbia and further more please let us know what we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Address: 924 Senate Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#13 Family Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Columbia Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.