We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Stop for Me in Columbia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Tap Room

Liberty Tap Room
828 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201
8034614677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 831 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Liberty means many things to many different people. It is a celebration of the great American farmer and the rich bounty he puts on our tables. It is a celebration of America's melting pot of rich ethnic cooking styles. It is a celebration of the resurgence of the hancrafted-brewing style of the pre-prohibition small American brewery. It is a celebration of life, family and the pursuit of happiness. So bring us your hungry, your thirsty and fun-loving, we'll send you home refreshed and fulfilled.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Typical Stop for Me in Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Because this restaurant is so close to my usual hotel in Columbia, I eat here almost every trip. I love the Shea Crab Soup, but it can be a little inconsistent. I also really enjoy the Asian Tuna Sandwich.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    88
    32
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First meal in South Carolina and it was Great !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stopped here while doing the college tour with my daughter and we loved it. Have eaten here many times over the 4 years she was in college. Her fav was the Shrimp & Grits - spicy and yummy, with a side of the apple walnut slaw, which is sweet. I would suggest either the Liberty chicken or the Bourbon chicken - both with a great sauce - or a steak - they're all good. Loved trying the different beers - coming from Houston, it was hard to find a new beer, but we did well with the more regional brews.
Friendly service and always willing to answer questions about the town or college. Nice location in the Vista - easy street parking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We really enjoyed the last time we ate here in 2013. So our expectations were higher. It seemed like a different restaurant now. The menu appears to have changed and was very blah. Had to ask for a beer list... This is a tap room so I'd expect that at the table.
And the service was just service... I can sum up the waiter in his parting words: "hope you enjoyed your food." No thanks for coming in or any interest at all. He took the order and delivered the food; actually someone else delivered the food, he dropped off the check before we were even done eating and that's not cool for dinner service.
I honestly don't remember much about the food. It wasn't terrible but not enough to make up for the service.
I recommend crossing the street to Longhorn if you want a meal with great service.
Next time I'm in town I'll likely not be back unless there is evidence of improvement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for visiting us again at Liberty and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your first experience with us but it was unfortunate to hear that we failed to maintain a consistent approach to our service and hospitality in this most recent visit. We have made changes to our menu, but that is no excuse for our failure to exceed your expectations during this recent meal. You are also correct in pointing out that you should have to ask for the beer list. We have great pride for our beer selections and we clearly failed to display that pride by not even providing you a menu. We do place tremendous value in the feedback we receive from our guests, and we will be reviewing your comments immediately with our team. We will not make any excuses for this recent visit, we will only promise to learn from it, while improving future guest experiences. We can only hope this most recent experience will not prevent you from dining with us again, as we know we can exceed your expectations if given another opportunity. Thank you for your comments and we hope to have the chance to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Bar Specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

In town for three days and stopped here for our first night's dinner. I wasn't very hungry since we had a late lunch, so I decided to go with the Blue Cheese Wedge and a bowl of She-Crab soup. Was highly satisfied. The wedge salad was one of the best I've had. The soup....amazing! I was glad we chose this spot for dinner. Crowds were at a minimum even with a great 2.75 pint special that evening. Selection of beers on tap was impressive. Would definitely visit here again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“USC Orientation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not one to stop at chains and we went here on the recommendation of a coworker (and Gamecock dad) who I respect for his "fooding". OK so I made up a word. Will keep it simple...

Super friendly and attentive staff.

Great selection on tap that included local/regional, national and international. Being from Delaware was impressed to see they picked dogfish 61 (which i skipped since i can have T home but try it!). I had a few SC brews and they were great.

Food was very good bar food. Bourbon chicken was perfectly cooked with a sweet bbq sauce and a light layer of gouda. Not my normal choice since at home I live on chicken but glad I took the recommendation. Pizza with tossed crust was good with very fresh ingredients.

Suspect this will become a comfy standard during our kids 4 years of college.

Would not hesitate to make this choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Liberty Tap Room, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting Liberty Tap Room during USC orientation with your family! It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our beer selection, the bourbon chicken, and pizza. We look forward to your next visit with the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Tap Room also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Tap Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.