We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in downtown Columbia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at USC Wyndham Garden

Save Saved
You added Inn at USC Wyndham Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1619 Pendleton Street, Columbia, SC 29201 (Formerly Inn at USC)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Arlington, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in downtown Columbia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

The Inn is adjacent to the U. of South Carolina campus, which is where many conferences are held. It is a short walk to the state capitol and a 15-20 minute walk to the downtown museums and "The Vista" entertainment and restaurant district.

The Inn rightly claims to exude a great amount of "southern hospitality." The staff was unfailingly helpful and friendly all the time. They put out nice snacks from 5-7 in the afternoon and delicious cookies from 8-10 in the evening. All the time there is fresh coffee, iced tea, and lemonade in the lobby. About the only weakness is that the fitness center does not have a full set of equipment lacking an upright exercise bike in particular although there is a recumbent. For $5 a day they can arrange the use of a nearby health club, so even that is not a serious problem.

The included substantial breakfast had a hot buffet and omelets cooked to order. Before your coffee cup was empty, the friendly and helpful staff would ask if you wanted a refill.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    127
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
247
55
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Was at a conference which is why I was here - not sure I would go to Columbia otherwise. The area around the university is very nice but if you stray too far Columbia would not be my first choice location! However, the hotel itself was fine - good sized room and the facilites were perfectly adequate. My only criticisms would be: (i) there was nothing between the bottom sheet and the mattress - better hotels always put something in-between for hygiene and comfort reasons (ii) the breakfast room was a bit basic - it felt as if it should have been part of the university rather than the hotel. Outside the hotel, the Blue Marlin is recommended as a place to eat. We were warned by the conference organisers to take care at night in Columbia if not in a group.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

My son and I were visiting the University of South Carolina from NJ and did not know the area at all. The one hotel that a friend had reccomended was booked, and the others reviewed in the area were either too expensive or had received mixed reviews. I contacted the Inn and found out they had a room available and they offered a discounted rate for visiters of USC.
The Inn is right on the campus, so after an exhausting day of touring the campus, we were able to check in right there.
We were surprised when we got in our room and there was only one bed. I requested a room change, and they immediately accomodated us. We were tired and hungry, so the cookies, popcorn and lemonade available in the lobby was a real treat while we relaxed until heading out to dinner.
The room was very clean, the beds comfortable, the hotel staff very helpful and accomodating - my son forgot a toothbrush and they were able to supply him one.
A free breakfast was included - scrambled eggs, french toast, omelets made to order, not your typical danish and muffins.
I highly reccomend this hotel, especially if you're visiting the campus.

  • Liked — location, friendly and accomodating staff, good value, comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — wish it had a pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We spent one night here on our way to North Carolina, and we loved this place! To us, it was luxurious. Our room was well-appointed and very nicely decorated. We had a suite, and our daughter had a comfy sofa bed and her own TV. The bathroom was absolutely huge...with a tub and a shower. Two nice bathrobes in the closet. The living area had a fridge, sink and microwave. Parking was free, and in the Inn's private lot. We enjoyed looking in the Library, and comparing the original photographs of the Inn, when it was a private residence (mansion), with the current place. The Library, Foyer and Reception area were just charming. The made-to-order breakfast was far superior to similar offering at other hotels. Every staff member we met was gracious and friendly. The front desk clerk recommended a great restaurant nearby, and we enjoyed the "local scene" and the meal. I would highly recommend the Inn at USC!

If you need a place to stay in Columbia, give them a try!

  • Liked — Nice decor, huge bathroom, suite, friendly staff, great complimentary breakfast
  • Disliked — We liked everything.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Stayed with my teens here for a night to tour the USC campus so we could experience what it would be like. It was in a beautiful building, nice, spacious rooms and luxurious bedding. But the hotel had a stuffy type atmosphere -- very desireable for business travelers, but not for teenagers. Yes, it was convenient to the university -- right across the street, but not the right fit for my clan. Very backed-up front desk -- always too busy -- with rather inexperienced, overworked college students -- no matter what time you visited. Buffet breakfast was lovely. Nice fresh waffles. But we felt the hotel was overpriced overall.

  • Liked — The soft bedding and buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — Stuffiness and long lines at the front desk
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-usc, General Manager at Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
I'm sorry that your stay did not meet yours or our expectation. I can assure you that we now have fully trained Guest Service Representatives that treat each guest with proper Southern Hospitality, while being mindful of waiting guests. We hope you will give us another chance to show you that the Inn at USC is a great fit for all guests, business traveler or family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the Inn at USC because, well, most hotels in Columbia, S.C. didn't have good reviews and the Inn did.
The rooms are spacious.We were traveling with three adults; so we booked a suite with the outdoor patio. It was relaxing and there wasn't any noise in the building.
My adult daugther was traveling with us and she said the sleep on the couch bed was great!
The breakfast was wonderful! It was an old-time Southern breakfast, complete with grits and corn beef hash. One review said the breakfast was fattening. Just don't eat the fattening things. There were bagels, yougart and fruit too. Omeletts were made to order, as were the waffles.
This isn't a full-service hotel, meaning if you are use to someone bringing something to your room, forget it.
I called the front desk to request a toothbrush. I was told that I would need to come downstairs to get it.
We found out about this hotel from a feature article that ran in Southern Living Magazine.
When we arrived, we told the front desk person this and she said lots of folks read it and were staying at the hotel because of it.
We were told that this hotel isn't allowed to advertise because it is located in the heart of a residential neighborhood. Apparently when this hotel was trying to get approvals from the City of Columbia, those in the neighborhood didn't want it because they feared that during USC football games, etc. that things might get rowdy.
That could explain why the cash-only bar opened only from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. and why there isn't a dinner restaruant in the hotel.
Everything is in walking distance to the Five Points area. Cute shops, restaurants, bars, etc.
The front-desk person said things were in walking distance, only about five blocks, but one usually will walk in a downtown when there are other folks walking around.
There wasn't a soul walking in this community in the night time.
Also, we were told the hotel was more for USC alumni and guests looking for a quaint place.
And as a nice note: Please tip the hotel staff in the breakfast area. They were nice and wonderful. As the breakfast was free, giving the staff a tip is a great way to end the day.

  • Liked — The spacious rooms and the breakfast
  • Disliked — No room service, no restaurant, bar closes at 8 p.m.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

Accomodation doesn't reflect the high price. At check inn we were told there was a group of scholars staying that night but that we will be placed away from them. We asked for a room where we could sleep. Even though they had many empty rooms that night, they instead got us right under a room where 10 teens were socializing. Front desk wasn't helpful about noises from these teens that went on from 2 am in the morning. They sent a security person but that didn't
help. Noises continued and I walked to front desk a second time. He replied there is nothing they could do. This despite their comfortable-sleep guaranteed statements. We just couldn't sleep. We later realized that we could also hear from our room when the neighbors were using their bathroom. We complaint again during check-out and we were only given a "we are sorry and would you like that to be charge to your credit card?" By the way the carpeting is not good for asthmatics and the hot part of breakfast was very fattenning.

  • Liked — Decoration around lobby and balcony from lobby
  • Disliked — could not sleep
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-usc, General Manager at Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. I assure you that the Inn has taken steps since your stay to assure that we minimize noise from any group. I can assure you that we have trained our staff to handle these types of situations in a better manner. We hope that someday you will allow us to show you our Southern Hospitality in its fullest. We have also increased broadened our breakfast selection to include egg white omelets for those looking to reduce fat consumption. We also have fresh hand cut fruit available as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at USC Wyndham Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at USC Wyndham Garden

Address: 1619 Pendleton Street, Columbia, SC 29201 (Formerly Inn at USC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Columbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#12 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at USC Wyndham Garden 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn at USC Wyndham Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Usc Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.