We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Than Your Average Hilton Garden Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   434 Columbiana Drive, Columbia, SC 29212   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save!
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Much Better Than Your Average Hilton Garden Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

My partner and I stayed here one evening in May 2010. We've stayed in hundreds of Hilton properties across the U.S. (Hampton Inn, Garden Inn, Doubletree, etc.) and I've never felt the desire to write a review before. However, this Garden Inn was well above what we normally experience at Hilton Garden Inns. The amenities and accommodations are precisely what you would expect at a Hilton Garden Inn. Our room was spotless and in exceptional working order (and included a small refrigerator and microwave). However, the service is what sets this apart from most Hilton's. It was absolutely top-notch! The front desk personnel were welcoming and helpful. Our breakfast experience was the best we've ever enjoyed at a Garden Inn. The servers were attentive and helpful, the food was fresh and plentiful, and the breakfast room was spotless. The manager even checked on us during our meal.

If you want to walk around downtown and enjoy the USC campus, this location is not ideal as you must drive several miles to get downtown. However, if you need a hotel in this location or don't mind driving downtown for nightlife, this is a gem.

While I wouldn't call this a five-star hotel (it is not comparable to the Palmer House in Chicago or a boutique hotel like the Soho Hotel in London or a luxury bed-and-breakfast), it is the best I've experienced in its category (a clean, comfortable, friendly, large-chain hotel near the highway) and so I'm rating it 5/5 for its type of accommodation and price point (we only paid $76 and have often paid $125 or more for similar Hilton Garden Inns).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    84
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
155
89
31
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Great place to stay. Staff is always cheerful and courteous. Conveniently located. Nothing more to ask.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Great service, excellent rooms , nice indoor pool area (small though ) pleasant entrance, close to mall --no complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

This hotel is amazing! We stay here at least once a month and EVERY time that we have stayed there everything has been perfect. All of the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the food at the restaurant is really good. But what we really love is the quality and cleanliness of the bed linens and pillows. We sleep better here than anywhere. This hotel is located in a great area and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Everything was pretty standard. The only thing was that I arrived relatively late in the evening and the hotel bar/restaurant closed before I could get anything to eat so I had to venture out again to forage for food. But other than that, the hotel was good.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We spent two nights at this hotel. It is very nice, clean, and quiet. The hotel is fairly new and the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. The bathorooms had granite countertops.

A nice surprise was that there was organic food available in the Grill. Both organic chicken and salmon were listed on the menu. I'll probably go back just because of this! The breakfast was quite nice as well. Service was good in the restaurant and our waitress was very friendly and pleasant. She seemed to know most of the guests.

We usually stay at Courtyards by Marriott and I have to say, I think this Garden Inn was better!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed here one night while in Columbia. The desk staff was very polite and friendly, offering us a beverage while he straightened out a problem with the room. The room itself was lovely, a big, comfy bed, good TV and internet service, and a whirlpool bathtub. The grout around the tub needed a little attention, though. We had dinner in the DR; mine was just okay but my husband really enjoyed his. The next day we checked out without eating; it would be nice if they'd offer a small continental breakfast, for the price paid. I would definitely state here again if in the area, and would also try other Hilton Garden Inns based on the experience with this one.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison

Address: 434 Columbiana Drive, Columbia, SC 29212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Columbia
#1 Business Hotel in Columbia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Harbison Hotel Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.