We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   434 Columbiana Drive, Columbia, SC 29212   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Online and Save
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendliest staff ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located off of the interstate. Our room was nice and tidy. The staff was fabulous, polite, friendly, helpful! Every single one of them from the desk to the housekeepers! I cannot express how bowled over we were! I never use so many exclamation points , but they deserve it. Stay here, weary travelers, you will be treated like kings and queens! Not to mention at a good price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank for both your wonderful review and the email sent to me directly. Comments such as yours and others posted here are truly what makes our jobs so rewarding. It appeared that we got a "strike" when we "bowled" you over during your recent stay with us. Come on back with us again and again where our stay will shoot for a "Turkey." You comments paint our team perfectly where every one of our employees is a part the guest experience. Weary travelers will always be greeted with the same level of service whether by one of our room attendants on the halls, at the Front Desk, or when starting their morning off with our Chef at breakfast. Your throne awaits you and others where you will always be like a King or Queen. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    76
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
139
79
30
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Overrated! Based on prior site feedback, our family booked 30+ rooms at this hotel for a family reunion. To say the least, we were very disappointed with the Value received. The breakfast was charged separately, was quite pricey, but not very good. The hotel carpet was dingy...particularly in each room. The hotel keys were sporadic in their functionality...we had to reset the keys several times and re-insert the keys multiple times before the room doors would open. We catered food for the event, but the chef staff served insufficient quantities.
To the hotel's credit, the hotel did provide sufficient towels and the AV staff was helpful in setting up the banquet hall.
Bottom line...this team could work to improve their service and hotel quality to match their pricing.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in digits near "10" are closer to the elevator...and hence more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Will M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us on Tripadvisor. The type of experience you feel you received is very uncommon for our hotel and staff. The review posting immediately before your own was here on the same weekend as your event. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience and the margin of difference between the two. I can assure you that our staff always has the highest priority of delivering a guest experience that exceeds all of your expectations. I would like to take a moment to address some of the issues you encountered during your stay and related event. Our Sales team worked diligently with your designated group contact on a special, customized budget to fit your event's budget needs. The quantities provided for your Saturday night event were both proportionally and historically based on very similar social events held by our hotel many times in the past in which an issue has never occurred. It is to my understanding that your overall attendance increased from the originally given head count for your event. However, we understand that your guest perception and experience are what is important as we are always here to serve our guests. As a result our Sales Manager has already given compensation to your event through your family reunion coordinator. We are dedicated to ensure our guests are satisfied with the services we deliver. The comments in regard to the carpet are very surprising as the majority of the hotel’s carpet on the 1st floor where you event was held is new. In addition, we clean it both on a monthly basis in-house and by a professional service multiple times throughout the year. You will find that our guests see that we have only the highest level of care for our property's appearance and maintenance. You are correct in stating that the functionality of the keys were an issue over the weekend. Unfortunately, during the time you stayed our hotel was having issues with our key encoder. This resulted in the inconsistency of your keys working properly. We understand how frustrating this can be for our guests as we actively pursued solutions to eliminate this problem right away which has now been corrected. On the same day of your arrival our Management Team personally tested every key for all arrivals to ensure that no guests were subject to this problem during their stay. I apologize that you still encountered this in lieu of our efforts to avoid any guest frustration. Last, I am sorry that you feel you received a lesser value than anticipated while with us. We always want our guests to feel as they received their money's worth and much more. The breakfast included price was not requested at the time of booking, but would have been accommodated to fit your group's need if this had been a request or need. Hilton Garden Inn does feel that the full cooked-to-order breakfast does provide a good value for our guests. I hope that you were able to take advantage of our full array of offerings as there are many. I trust that in spite of the issues you encountered during your stay that my staff tried to resolve any needs right away and delivered only the highest level of customer service. I can understand how a series of events or miscommunications can take away from the experience that we set out to give you and your group. I encourage you to call me directly at the hotel so I can further discuss your comments to ensure you are satisfied. I look forward to seeing you back with us again so our staff can give you the stellar experience we are known for and you deserve. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you. Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was here for a Wedding of a Family member. The location & staff were Supurb! The rehersal dinner was fantastic. The cleaning staff was excellent & accommodating. The Supervisor of that service was a sweetheart. Came & brought me a sewing kit with a smile. Yolande at the front desk was super professional. Alberta was helpful & pleasant as well at the restaurant. I would stay here again no doubt. Right next to mall to and walking distance.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast here. Price is right and Chefs are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear IPraise2,

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay and the staff service you received. We know how important special events such as weddings are as we strive to make it as memorable as possible. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the rehearsal dinner so much. I have passed your comments along to our Sales and Food & Beverage teams. Thank you for acknowledging the levels of service provided by Brendan McCoy, Executive Housekeeper, Yolanda, and Albertha. Each of them serve as excellent examples of the service we set out to deliver with each guest. I trust that they delivered on our promise to make sure that you were 100% satisfied in every aspect. We look forward to seeing you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

i have spent several nights in this motel. the pool area is inside. has a small hot tub as well. the fitness area is very small. the rooms and all are all very clean and modern. very nice. the restaurant has some nice menu choices. there is also a manager's special mon- wed where you can get a couple of drinks for free. the motel has some really good people working in the restaurant as well as the front desk. you could not ask for better customer service. there are plenty of places to eat nearby. i liked the carolina ale house up the street.
overall great place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Chaddydaddy01,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us in regard to your recent stay. During your time with us it appears that you enjoyed some of the amenities and benefits we can offer to our guests. As you mentioned, we do have an indoor pool/jacuzzi for our guests to relax or exercise. I did want to take a moment to let you know that we do offer complimentary guest access to Gold's Gym located just .5 miles from the hotel in addition to our onsite PreCor fitness center. We know how important it is for you to be able to maintain your fitness routine while traveling. Our onsite restaurant offers a full cooked-to-order breakfast, dinner and room service. We have a new menu offering an excellent array of choices. And if you are looking to get out, the Carolina Ale House is a great choice and close. However, choices are plentiful as we are centrally located to alColumbia's primary restaurant and shopping area(Harbison Blvd). Your comments have been passed along to the team about the level of customer service you received throughout your stay. Exceeding all of your expectations is always our highest priority. You can rest assure that customer service at its finest is alive and well in at the Hilton Garden Inn, Columbia/Harbison! Thank you for recognizing this as it serves as a great compliment to our staff. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hi Joseph,
I had a chance to gather some feedback from our staff and I was told that everything went well. They were very pleased with the set-up. Of all the meetings we had throughout North & South Carolina for the past 2 weeks, Our staff was more pleased with the service, the set-up, the food and the staff more so than the other hotels. We felt like we got our money’s worth and more. I just got word that we plan on doing more of these meetings in the future and I will definitely keep you in mind. I look forward to working you again in the future and again thank you for all your hard work and dedication. You and your staff did a wonderful job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear R M,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our hotel and others on Tripadvisor.com. Guest feedback is a key component of our sucess as we depend of your comments to improve on the level of service we provide. Our Sales and Food & Beverage team is extremely pleased to know that all of your staff gave us positive reviews. Striving to the best of the best for our guests is always our top priority. Proving an excellent value for our customers is very important to us as we want you to leave feeling like you did get your money's worth. Glad to know you agreed... We look forward to seeing you back soon for your next meeting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We are Hilton diamond members and tend to be picky about our hotels. This one felt new and was very clean. We thought the location was convenient as well. We walked two parking lots over to a Carrabba's and there was a Starbucks by the exit to get back on the highway in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Jlhesq,

Thank you for taking to share your review about your recent experience at our hotel! As one of our most highly valued Diamond Member guests you are entitled to be picky. Our most loyal guests know our hotels better than anybody. Our staff is very pleased to know that we met and hopefully exceeded all of your expectations. Yes, we are conveniently located to many restaurants and shopping in the Columbia area. I would encourage you to dine with us during your next stay where we serve both a delicious full cooked-to-order breakfast as well as offering dinner/room service in the evenings. Starbucks is a great start to any morning, but you can get it here for free as we serve to all of our guests.We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn is a lovely hotel! My thinking has always been that a hotel and room should be as nice as your house or nicer. HGI fills the bill. Staff is great. Lady at the front desk was very help and professional. She even printed directions to the Arena for us and help with getting a cab. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. We were there for only one night so we didnt use pool or exercise facilities. Many choices for breakfast. Lots of restaurants in the area. We ate at the Japanese Restaurant right next door- had a great meal. A little pricey but worth it. One other thing that I really like about HGI is the coffee mugs in the room not papercups. That may seem like a small item but again it is like home! I would highly recommend this hotel for the service, price and hospitality which is outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seanbranch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Renee M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your glowing experience with others on Tripadvisor.com. Our staff truly values making our guests feel at home when with us. We try to take it a step further by you being able to relax and let our staff do the work for you that you would normally do at home. As you mentioned we do offer a full array of amenities and benefits our guests can enjoy when staying with us. Please join us for dinner where we have a brand new menu with some excellent choices. You can choose to dine with us in our onsite restaurant or have room service delivered to your room. The Food and Beverage team stands ready to serve you. Your comments about our staff service have been shared with our team. Each one of our employees takes part in our service culture with the guest always at the forefront. We will have a coffee mug and a smile ready for you when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison

Address: 434 Columbiana Drive, Columbia, SC 29212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbia
#1 Family Hotel in Columbia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Harbison Hotel Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.