We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you have cash!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of No Name Deli

No Name Deli
2042 Marion St, Columbia, SC 29201
803-252-0480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 839 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Make sure you have cash!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great food, reasonable prices, friendly service. Just know that they do NOT take credit cards-it's a cash only establishment. They do have an atm machine type thing where you can get cash, but the fee to use it is kind of on the high side. Other than that, I have no complaints. We went for lunch on a weekday and the place was packed, but we didn't wait more than 5 minutes to order and maybe another 5 minutes for our food. You can't beat that! It's fast food prices for much higher quality food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Best Deli in Columbia O. KThe absolute best lunch from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Where can you get the best home made soups and iced tea? None other than the No Name Deli.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Follow the Yellow Brick Road! Great Sandwiches, Soups, and Tea Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

No Name is a week-day, lunch-only Deli with a hardcore following of regulars for take-out and eat-in. It's small, with a menu on the wall, seating for about 50, and many workers behind a long deli counter. One orders at the deli line. It opens at 11am, and the line gets too long quickly, which is when folks will tell you to Follow the yellow Brick Road; double up the line, and follow the yellow tiles on the floor!
They have a utilitarian self-serve tea bar; urns of Sweet, Unsweet, Peach, and Orange Tea, with bowls of lemon wedges, and mint leaves. I have my own favorite combination!
Huge portions of hot and cold sandwiches, fresh soups daily, huge salads, and hot crispy fries! My favorites: the egg salad on wheat toast, the Greek lemon chicken soup, and always, the turkey reuben and fries.
They use a combination of white and dark meat in the chicken salad. I know alot of folks love it, but it's not my favorite.
They have limited parking, it's mostly on the street with meters.
The service is quick; and that is why the sandwich-makers directness of manner is charming; if the line is long, they will skip over you if you are not ready with your order, until you know what you want. But they're not mean about it, just efficient.
Payment is cash or check only; no debit or credit cards; there is an ATM machine that will charge you about $5 to withdraw your own cash.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for a great fast meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

I had the chicken salad sandwich for lunch. It was one of the best sandwiches I have ever eaten. Everything was fresh, the portions were large and I got change back from a five dollar bill. The sandwich was made while I was standing in line with incredible speed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Down home cookin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

They do food simple, but boy is it good. The chicken salad sandwich is gold!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Name Deli also viewed

 

Been to No Name Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No Name Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.