We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Southern Sea Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin

Blue Marlin
1200 Lincoln St, Columbia, SC 29201-3136
(803) 799-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Marlin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 839 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Dessert, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Southern Sea Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved the shrimp and grits, salmon, and fish cakes. Very delicious with great Southern Beers on tap! Highly worth visiting if you're in the Columbia area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    137
    47
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding surprise in Columbia, SC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had lunch at the Blue Marlin and was amazed by the quality and generous luncheon portion , the delightful ambience of the old train station, impeccable service for the same price some Greenville restaurants charge for a stand up and order it yourself chicken salad sandwich. I was in Columbia on business later that month, returned for dinner and had the same delightful experience. The complimentary collards were delicious - I had never had them prepared like that which is probably why I thought I didn't like them. Highly recommend the Blue Marlin to anyone looking for great food, fun bar and reasonable prices.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayce, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best shrimp'n grits!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

service is fast , and servers know what they r selling!! thought it is gonna be expensive, and fansy dining, but it was not that bad!! our first visit, and we are all happy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Blue in Shining Colors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

When my friend got this as a recommendation from the hotel concierge I thought it would likely be an expensive tourist trap. Not at all. I do believe there were some pricey things on the menu, but there was enough variety at worthy pricing for me to fully enjoy the experience.

The hostess gave us a good introduction regarding the restaurant's trademark for soaking the drink of the day in fruit. This evening it was pineapple in vodka, and the chunks were huge as they sat on top of the bar in this gigantic jar. The specialty drink was pineapple martini. I did not have one, but my friends did and they liked it. I had the Dark and Stormy, which is rum with ginger beer. They were happy to accommodate a switch from their dark rum to my preferred Myers' Rum. Delicious.

Nice warm bread with honey butter to snack on while we waited, plus a cup of seafood gumbo for me. The wait was not long, and I wish I had ordered a bowl because the gumbo was so fresh and good. For dinner I had the Charleston Tilapia - baked and stuffed with seafood. Came with grits and string beans. All very tasty and presented well. I remember my friend had the Seafood Sampler, and shared some with his wife. I don't remember what she ordered, but when they finished sharing, both of their plates still looked full. We were each pleasantly stuffed from the servings. So much so that I didn't have room for dessert, though I wanted to try something just because everything else was so good.

I look forward to returning here... which is what my friend did the following day while his wife was at a seminar (we had Saturday night dinner).

BURPs Up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great graduation dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Amazed that we had a great seafood dinner the evening of graduation at the Blue Marlin. Terrific shrimp and grits. Excellent service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin also viewed

 

Been to Blue Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.