We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant, moderately priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin

Blue Marlin
1200 Lincoln St, Columbia, SC 29201-3136
(803) 799-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Marlin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 798 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Beaufort, SC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, moderately priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This restaurant is attractively situated in the historic Seaboard Railway Station near downtown Columbia. My Salmon Pontchartrain was wonderful. Nice ambiance, good service, great Lowcountry cuisine all moderately priced. I'll be back.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    168
    55
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great Food, Popular Choice, Make a Reservation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Blue Marlin is a great choice for Lunch or Dinner. They are centrally located in the Vista in what looks to be a converted train station. The beautiful wood paneled interior is inviting as is the blue lights accenting the bar. The menu features South Carolina Low Country cuisine and the generous portions of food are served up with a touch of Southern hospitality sure to leave you satisfied. Any of the fried seafood selections are great, as are the Shrimp & Grits or the Salmon Pontchartrain with its blackened shrimp and scallops in a creamy mornay sauce. Start with a bowl of She Crab soup, Fried Green tomatoes or the Signature BLT salad. I can't say I've ever had room for dessert, but I'm sure that whatever your choice you'll have a unique and memorable dining experience at the Blue Marlin.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is one of the few places in Columbia to get decent seafood. I think their dishes are always good. Everyone should try their collared greens, I don't eat them normally and I thought they were great!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I had a terrific dinner at Blue Marlin last night. Although I don't recall our server's name, he was excellent at recommending the restaurant's most popular dishes and what he considered the better dishes. By far, they have the best shrimp and grits that I've ever had. If you're not big on the dish, at least try the appetizer portion, just to taste. In reality, after eating the appetizer I was quite full. Should I return to the Columbia area, I will definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This place has wonderful steaks and the best Shrimp and Grits ever.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin also viewed

 

Been to Blue Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.