We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting collection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Museum of Art

Columbia Museum of Art
Corner of Main and Hampton Sts, Columbia, SC
803/799-2810
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 53 Attractions in Columbia
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“interesting collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

not much of an art fanatic but the museum is filled with a large variety of works from many famous artists. from time to time, touring pieces will stop by in the museum to be seen (most recently Matisse and Monet pieces)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belvedere,SC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well chosen exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was my first trip. I was impressed at the scope of the collection and how the curator chose good examples of different time periods.
Being able to see up close how Botticelli put details on things as small as a man's toenails or the Ave Maria written in the hem of Mary's robe was awesome.

I couldnt join this museum fast enough. They really deserve our support

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressionist Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an amazing show! It is also my first time to this museum. Located in downtown Columbia it is a nice building with lots of glass. The Impressionist show has Matisse, Gauguin, Renoir, Degas, Monet and more. I did not do the guided tour but I felt the explanations on the wall next to the paintings were informative. We went upstairs but most of it was closed. Very nice gift shop. All the staff were smiling and friendly. Cost is $15 for an adult and $12 for a senior and $5 for students. Very reasonable for a terrific show.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great way to grab two hours of culture after a baseball tournament”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Our boys enjoyed the impressionist exhibit after a long day on the baseball field. Two hours just enough.. Don't forget to look 'up' when you are purchasing your tickets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“A very nice, right-sized museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a great place to stop on a rainy day, or if you just love art. The museum is just large enough to get a pretty thorough review of the entire museum on a day.

During our recent visit there was a very good special exhibit on Impressionism "Monet to Matisse". The collection may be a small step below the major museums, but it is well worth visiting. The museums descriptions are thorough, there are plenty of really fine paintings and works from a wide range of periods, and the special exhibit was especially interesting.

We were very pleasantly surprised.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbia Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.