We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst lunch food ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Shop Cafe

Gourmet Shop Cafe
724 Saluda Ave, Columbia, SC
803-799-3705
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 839 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst lunch food ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We ordered for our business luncheon...bread was stale, no condiments for sandwiches, received wrong dressing for salads. The dressing we got was so overpowering. Pimento cheese was worst I had ever had....could not even taste the cheese! Half of our group did not even finish their food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Lunch Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Always a great spot for lunch! Never had a bad meal here, and it's always the same great quality. I love their 3 salad menu option. The pesto is amazing! When were' looking for a place to grab a good but quick bite this place is my go-to!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best of Breed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This venue is actually 3 businesses in one large room. A very well stocked wine store, a housewares store with top shelf cookware, gadgets and tableware and a very hip bistro.

Lots of great sandwiches, paninis, pasta, salads and sweets. Yeah, it's a chick place but you can still get a great rare roast beef on a baguette and tarragon potato salad.

Great service in every enterprise. Well run operation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I always love going to the Gourmet Shop. The chicken salad and basil, tomato and feta pasta salad just can't be beat. It is a nice little place with a casual atmosphere and a lovely gift shop to peruse on your way out.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always Consistently Good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A trip to the Gourmet Shop is always an experience of casual enjoyment with great wait staff and an easy, but wonderful experience and meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Shop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Shop Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.