We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Dreaming Restaurant

California Dreaming Restaurant
401 South Main St, Columbia, SC 29201-4147
803-254-6767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 839 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Voted “Best Salad” 12 years running, by Free Times and Columbia Metropolitan, “Best Date Spot, Best Overall Restaurant and Best Place to Take your Parents” by USC’s The Daily Gamecock. Enjoy giant-sized fare from the California Dreaming kitchen; start with the Barbecue Chicken Nachos, then slow-cooked Prime Rib or a hearty pasta dish. The restaurant also features late night bar bites; large party carry-out and catering; live music and seasonal patio dining. The historic landmark building, Union Station, is located steps away from USC.
Columbus. Ohio
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this restaurant is housed in an old train station. It looks pricey with its white tablecloths, but is quite reasonable. We ate in the bar area and were served quickly. A garlic, chicken, and mushroom pasta was very good, as was the salmon salad, which came with a nice-sized piece of salmon. It's worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    118
    59
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Good food and Nice location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

California Dreaming in the old train station.
The building is huge,the food is good and the service is great.

We stopped in after going to the Italian Festival (no we did not eat at the festival as I hate having to purchase tickets and then go stand in line at the food booths).
Salads were excellent as are the croissants,the potato soup is great and my shrimp dinner contained large size shrimp that were breaded lightly just like I enjoy.
Our first visit and we will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Evening B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Traveling south stopped in Columbia for the night thought we would check the great reviews. We weren't disappointed great food and atmosphere. Located downtown near University. We were glad we had GPS to find the restaurant. We did call ahead for seating (suggested) but found it unnecessary as there was a seat your self area around bar. Food great service even better. Only negative parking in area is at a premium.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“huge salad, wonderful homemade bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Unbelievable salad and fresh made bread. I hate one of the biggest salads with a large salmon fillet on top served with a honey coated freshly made bread that was out of this world. The portions were huge and you didn't need anything else for your meal.

For lunch, it seems to attract a business clientele since i saw more ties and coats than I had expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dined here for our Anniversary and it was a nice atmosphere. Dimmed lighting gave you a sense of privacy. We called ahead of arrival to avoid the wait and were seated immediately. Great food, about $60 for 2 to include appetizer, meal and drinks. Had enough left over for a big lunch the following day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Dreaming Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to California Dreaming Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Dreaming Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.