We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take in-laws - there will be no complaints!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motor Supply Co. Bistro

Motor Supply Co. Bistro
920 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 256-6687
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Motor Supply Co. Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 858 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American, Organic, Bistro, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Park and Lincoln Sts.
Transit: There are several transit stops throughout the vista and downtown area, one of which is located half a block away from us. Taxis are also readily available.
Description: Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, New Southern, French, Italian and Asian cuisine. We are Columbia's foremost "farm to fork" restaurant, working with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, SC seafood and more. Seafood is caught off of the Carolina coast, and all of our stocks, sauces and desserts are made on site, including our charcuterie, with house-made sausages, bacon, country pate, and rillettes, all the way down to the pickles and mustard. Our early 19th century, solid-oak bar with marble columns, imported from Europe, serves 180+ fine wines (Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence, 2006-12), an extensive list of imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to take in-laws - there will be no complaints!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Fun place that literally used to be a motor supply warehouse. Menus are handwritten because it depends on the ingredients the chef acquires. Service is of the best, food is fresh and hot. A favorite for business lunch and special dinners.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    94
    38
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great, well-rounded dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I dined here last week and were pleased as usual. The menu is always impressive and exciting. We brought a nice bottle of wine to enjoy with our meal and were pleased to see that the corkage fee was only $10. Our sever could have been a little more attentive, especially since the restaurant wasn't busy. The only other minor complaint was that my steak was a bit too salty for my taste. Motor is always a pleasure and one of the best in Columbia!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Done to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Mussels, shrimp, steak--everything we tried was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. We shared the mussels "a la Julia" for a starter, using the bread basket to soak up the garlicky broth. I had the shrimp with rabbit ragu over grits; my dining companion had the steak with mushrooms over mashed potatoes. Both came with a small bundle of green beans in between the base and topping--a somewhat silly conceit that somehow actually works. The restaurant is renowned for its wine list but also has a worthy beer selection including local brews. We should have stopped while we were ahead but we ended by sharing a chocolate peanut butter pie--good but nothing you haven't seen before. One very nice touch--the owner worked the room, making sure all was going well. Yes, it's expensive, but I'd say it's worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Poor service, average food, above average price.....there are much better options available in Columbia for the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia,sc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Motor, as those who frequent this restaurant call it, is a laid back restaurant in the heart of the bustling Vista area of Columbia, SC. The menu changes daily, is hand-written, and always includes locally sourced fresh ingredients. The meals are hearty and always delicious. The atmosphere is warm and I love seeing the work of local artists represented on the walls--there are some very fine works of art here. In nice weather, the outdoor patio is the place I head to--tucked off the back of the restaurant and off the road, it is one of the few outdoor dining patios in the area that doesn't front a noisy street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motor Supply Co. Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Motor Supply Co. Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motor Supply Co. Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.