We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be a 4 cylinder engine....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motor Supply Co. Bistro

Motor Supply Co. Bistro
920 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 256-6687
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Motor Supply Co. Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 840 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Bistro, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Park and Lincoln Sts.
Transit: There are several transit stops throughout the vista and downtown area, one of which is located half a block away from us. Taxis are also readily available.
Description: Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, New Southern, French, Italian and Asian cuisine. We are Columbia's foremost "farm to fork" restaurant, working with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, SC seafood and more. Seafood is caught off of the Carolina coast, and all of our stocks, sauces and desserts are made on site, including our charcuterie, with house-made sausages, bacon, country pate, and rillettes, all the way down to the pickles and mustard. Our early 19th century, solid-oak bar with marble columns, imported from Europe, serves 180+ fine wines (Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence, 2006-12), an extensive list of imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes.
Greenville
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must be a 4 cylinder engine....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Motor Supply Company wasn't all it's web sit reved it up to be. The web site portrays a great restraurant offering a wide variet of goods, French Bistro, American Bistro, Asian Bistro. In reality the Motor Supply Co offers an extremely limited lunch menu. 2 soups. 4 salads and a few sandwiches. The food was 'ford' quality, certainy not a porsch place. The decor was nice and chic. But, the restaurant unfortunately turned out to be a nice paint job with not much under the hood. Food was average and the 'pit crew' were better suited to work at the go cart track at the fair grounds.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    78
    32
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good stuff you can't get at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Their Mahi Mahi was prepared with a very unique vinaigrette. The Fried Duck was one of their starters. And they had a salad dressed with watermelon, feta and a raspberry/blueberry vinaigrette dressing. Those were just a few of the very unique, well prepared and very tasty dishes we had last night.

Adding to the experience was their building which was unique and charming. It is located in a section of Columbia that overall is very neat. The area is full of old restored buildings with a lot of character, easy parking, lots of friendly people, and more restaurants than you could eat at in a month.

The wait staff and the GM were very friendly, attentive, and helpful. While expensive for Columbia, it was worth every dollar.

There were 4 of us waiting for our kids to see a concert at USC. We were not rushed and it was a very easy place for us to meet the kids afterwards.

If you find yourself in Columbia, make sure to pencil in a stop at the Motor Supply Co.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This little gem has a lot to offer, including a chic vibe. I have been here three times and the food has always been excellent. The manager is attentive as are the wait staff. The back patio area is a nice place to enjoy a meal when the weather is good. (Maybe even when it is not!) I recommend the fruit and cheese plate and the beef filet. The last time I was there was with a large group on a busy night and everything was lovely. If you are there at lunch or before 5:30, be sure to visit Carol Saunders Gallery which is right next door.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“May be the best meal I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Columbia this is a must. We were so impressed with our meal. We started the meal off by splitting the bacon slab salad with apple vinegarette. That may be the best vinagarette ever. I had the tempura fried lobster tail as my entree. It was huge and DELICIOUS. The creamy jasmine rice was just as good and I don't know what was in the sauce around the rice but I want to buy a bottle of it. My husband had the New York strip with shiitake mushroom sauce serves over mashed potatoes. He said his was really good but after tasting mine he liked it better. Our server was Brendon and he was excellent. He had great knowledge of the menu and gave us great advice on our choices. The atmosphere is a nice quiet place with artsy decor. They were busy but noise was not overwhelming like some places. We decided to have the vanilla bean creme brûlée. It was perfect.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food and cool atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Something different than your typical chain restaurant. My husband had pork chops with a creamy tomato sauce and I had grilled tilapia over a delicious rice with some sort of sweet buttery sauce. Both entrees were delicious!! We were in town for my nephew's graduation from basic training at Fort Jackson. We wanted to eat downtown and try something that they don't have where we live in Cincinnati. Very glad we did! Yummy!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motor Supply Co. Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Motor Supply Co. Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motor Supply Co. Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.