We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience from check in until check out” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Greystone Blvd., Columbia, SC 29210   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save!
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Butler, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful experience from check in until check out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Wouldn't step foot in another Homewood based on this experience. Only room was for smokers, pool smelled. Room smelled. Breakfast time was a joke, people working there took all of the food of the buffet to take home. wrapping up plates with foil and making us wait for another order of food to come out.. Again Awful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for alerting us about your experience while staying with us. We're very sorry to hear about the dining experience you had and have addressed this issue with our staff. We've also asked our housekeeping team to freshen our rooms and apologize for any discomfort you had. We want you to feel relaxed with us and experience the comforts of home. Your review will certainly help us to improve and we hope we can invite you back to our changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    55
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
119
46
18
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The only drawback to this place is it's in an area that's not pedestrian-friendly with mostly car dealerships around. There aren't really any attractions or restaurants you can walk to from the hotel. The hotel itself is everything you'd expect. No problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are glad the we were able to provide great service while you were here. Our goal is to make you feel at home while you here and I certainly hope that we were able to do that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The staff was very helpful, speedy check-in and check-out =Painless. Staff and appearance of amenities were very clean and professional. I experienced no trouble with wireless internet. Even though my stay was related to business, it was very inviting and relaxing. I would definitely- highly recommend Homewood Suites for both personal leisure as well as for business purposes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your response. I am so happy that you were able to check in and out with ease and that you had a relaxing experience. We welcome you back at anytime whether it be for personal or business matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stedman, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the complimentary breakfast was more than we expected. The hotel was convenient (within walking distance, approximately 1/4 mile) to the zoo. The proximity to the zoo made it easy to take a break for while and return to the zoo later.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks you for your response! We are glad the we were able to provide great service to you and your family while you were here. It is a pleasure to hear that you were able to enjoy our complementary Suite Start Breakfast before heading out on your trip to the zoo. If you find yourself back in the area, I hope that you'll choose us again for all of your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were in Columbia for our daughter's fall break from USC. We had arrived a couple of days earlier, and picked her up from school and drove to Charleston for a short holiday. While in Charleston, we stayed at a competitors "Suite" hotel & it was terrible! After our time in Charleston we returned to Columbia to return our daughter to school. We stayed at Homewood Suites, so she could spend the night with us, before we said goodbye the next day. It was SO wonderful to be in a clean, well accommodated, and comfortable hotel! It was like a breath of fresh air, compared to our stay at the other "Suite" hotel in Charleston!! If you stay here, you will not regret it & you will love the breakfast :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are glad that we were able to provide you with an experience that was pleasant and enjoyable. Our goal is to make you feel at home by providing you with excellent customer service, and comfortable/clean amenities. We'd love to have you back each time you come to visit your daughter while she's here at USC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, SC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay at Homewood Suites. It was our first experience with this chain and I"ll be recommending this to others and looking for this chain in all my travels now! Thanks Homewood Suites for such an outstanding experience! This was a family trip that was also a business trip for our family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are glad the we were able to provide great service to you and your family while you were here. It is great to here that you love the chain as well. It really means a lot to hear things like this from our guests because it lets us know that we are on the right path. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed at several Homewood Suites, but this one was disappointing. Luggage for 3 people at check-in and no luggage carts to be found and no solution. We asked for the lower floor away from the elevators and we got an upper floor right by the elevators. That ended up being good only because we had to drag our luggage by hand. There were cigarette burns on the bathroom counter. The location - overlooking 2 car lots - is far from scenic. However, the proximity to downtown is convenient, and thanks to the desk clerk for recommending the Liberty Grille which was a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We value your loyalty to our brand and regret that we didn't meet your expectations. We understand how important it is after a long day to not have to wait for others to bring the carts back to the lobby area. We are working on a solution for this so that future guests will not be inconvenienced. Additionally we're working with our housekeeping staff to reevaluate our quality assurance practices. We hope that you'll consider giving us another chance to serve you for a more comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC

Address: 230 Greystone Blvd., Columbia, SC 29210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
#7 Family Hotel in Columbia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gorgeous Homewood Suites by Hilton® Columbia hotel is located just three miles from downtown Columbia and exciting local attractions. Whether you’re in town for business or leisure, we offer easy access to major interstate highways and a central location for guests needing a short term or extended stay Columbia hotel. We welcome you to enjoy the opportunity to visit some of the biggest attractions the area has to offer. Whether you'll be in Columbia for a long stay or a shorter visit, hotel guests can choose from an all-inclusive studio suite or one of our two-room hotel suites which feature separate living and sleeping areas. You'll easily be able to spend your time in Columbia hotel working, relaxing or entertaining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia SC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.