We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum
301 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
803-737-8095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 104 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Oak Hill, va
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nice collection of artifacts. Worth the $5 entry. Takes about 90 to do the entire thing. It is in an odd location and on a week day not much traffic, but plenty of parking and it is covered.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I would have never dreamed that so many civil war photographs would still exist and be in such good condition. I spent hours reading all of the information and looking over the artifacts. The 3D Civil War movie was fascinating. I was so lucky to be able to check this out. If you have any interest in the Civil War - be sure not to miss this. There are other military artifacts as well, but the great majority of the info is from the Civil War.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“History comes alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'm only a moderate history buff, but I have to admit that this is a very well put together museum that transports you back in time to the Confederacy. Also, has an up-to-date current era military section. My wife also liked it very much. Low admission price and very much worth seeing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The military exhibits were among the best presented that I have seen. The displays were balanced, not glorifying war, but presenting the history and also the hardships and sacrifices of those who stayed at home. The 3-D movie was a collection of original stero view photographs from the Civil War. Wearing the 3-D glasses allowed one to see the pictures as they were intended to be viewed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wonderful exhibits in a wonderful old building - ask the staff about it. Offered a lot to see. The movie was interesting but it was in 3-D which I didn't care for - although understood why.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum also viewed

 

Been to South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Carolina Confederate Relic Room and Military Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.