We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Columbia to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   217 Lanneau Court, Jct. I-26 & Harbison Blvd. (Exit 103), Columbia, SC 29212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

room keys had to constantly reset everytime we went in and out of our room. Had to go out and buy an air freshner because room had a odor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Wingate by Wyndham Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is our goal to offer clean, comfortable guest rooms and excellent service to each and every one of our guests and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet those high standards during your stay. We are so glad that you brought these concerns to our attention so that we could make improvements for our future guests. We would like to take this opportunity to share a quick travel tip with all of our guests. Hotel key cards can be deactivated if they are kept in a wallet near a credit card. It is important to keep the key card as far away from credit cards as possible. While this may not have been the cause on this particular visit, we just wanted to share this trip for your future travels. Again, we are so sorry that you experienced these inconveniences during your visit and we hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we can provide the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Wingate by Wyndham Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    144
    99
    35
    19
See reviews for
243
100
40
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
KENNESAW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was a nice place for a home base for Columbia. It was far enough from the city to be economical and close enough to enjoy the city attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear travelbagel,

We are so glad that you and your friends chose to stay with us at the Wingate Harbison hotel in Columbia, South Carolina. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and hope that you had a chance to visit favorite local attractions such as Riverbanks Zoo, the South Carolina State House, and the beautiful Lake Murray Dam. We appreciate all of your feedback and positive ratings. Please visit us again soon at the Wingate Harbison hotel!

Sincerely,
Wingate by Wyndham Harbison Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The exterior and even public visited interiors of the property are lovely. This is an OLD hotel with a renovation. My room had at some point had a water leak, with visible damage and mold stain on the ceiling. The drapery valance is visibly water damaged. The staff are lovely and surrounding attractions make the stay okay enough, but I will not stay here again. Be aware that this is a very OLD property with outdated everything. Sad. Looked GREAT from my travel advisory website. Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear STCLT,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. First, we would like to thank you for the positive feedback about the exterior appearance, the customer service, and the location of our hotel. While we appreciate your kind words, we are very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We have recently renovated our hotel, making improvements to both the public areas and individual guest rooms. Our fresh look features new furniture, wallpaper, TV’s and more. We appreciate your comments and will investigate the room details mentioned above. It is your feedback that allows us to make necessary changes and better serve our future guests. Please contact our General Manager, Michelle Parks, with any additional questions or comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia Harbison Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Columbia, SC... right off I-26 next to the Columbiana Mall and some great restaurants. It's actually quiet, too. The front desk was very efficient, and everything was really neat and clean. Our room had all the basics, including a refrigerator, ironing board & iron, flat-screen tv, and a single-serve coffee maker that dispenses into a disposable cup.The bathroom was spacious and the shower was great. The elevator was fast, too. I really liked the complimentary breakfast. They offered more than just the usual items, including scrambled eggs, waffles, hot ready-made oatmeal with toppings, and french toast. I was pleasantly surprised since it was a "secret hotel" deal and it was well worth the value of what I paid. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms should be fine since the hotel is tucked away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear CoolBeansinNC,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Wingate Columbia hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location right off I-26 near Columbiana Mall and great local restaurants. We appreciate the kind words about our efficient front desk staff, clean rooms, and hotel amenities. In addition, we appreciate the compliments about our quiet atmosphere, fast elevators, and complimentary breakfast buffet. We truly value guest feedback and are always eager to learn which amenities and services our guests like best! Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and hope that you will visit us again soon at the Wingate Columbia Harbison hotel.

Sincerely,
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in Spring of this year. My overall impression of the facility is "average". There was nothing particularly memorable about the stay. The location is good, close to shopping and restaurants. The clerk at the front desk when we checked in appeared to have slept in her clothes, maybe they had just been that busy. We had an extremely noisy neighbor the last night of our stay who was slamming his door about every three seconds for over half an hour. I finally called the desk and the matter was taken care of quickly and effectively. From what I could determine, there were several follow up calls as well. I really appreciated this as we could not have slept at all with that kind of ruckus. We would probably stay here again if the price was good, but all things being equal would probably make another selection.

Room Tip: Didn't see that any reason to believe there is much difference in the rooms, although one corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear irsmgr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to Columbiana Mall and various local restaurants. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We strive to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and we are very sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. We truly value your feedback as it is information like this that allows us to improve and better serve our future guests. We would like to thank you for calling our front desk team when you experienced problems with noise. Our team is prepared to do everything we can to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the hotel. If an issue is brought to our attention, we will do everything we can to resolve the problem immediately. Again, we really appreciate all of your time and hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we can provide the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia Harbison Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went to Wingate for my son's graduation from Basic Training at Fort Jackson. When we first arrived I wasn't overly impressed. The hallways near the elevator were nice. The hallway carpeting was gross. I think if they switched out that carpeting it would look better.

The rooms weren't horrible. But, we had a deal for 69 dollars for three nights - a special for graduation. Overall, for what we paid, the accommodations were nice. I will say that there are much closer hotels. I didn't enjoy the drive to the base and it was far longer than the 15 minutes advertised. The breakfast was pretty much standard. The pool was outside, not great. But, we knew that when we reserved.

It is across from the mall which was awesome. Because graduates all seemed to want to get cell phones lol, the arrangement worked out perfectly. Our son just wanted to relax, eat and watch television afterward. There is also a great food court at the mall to satisfy his want for food he'd missed. So, we got his cell phone (many graduates showed up) and then went across the road to our hotel room where he relaxed. Everything was so much less chaotic than it was on base, so it made it nice. The distance from the base worked out for us because of the mall being there. Just be careful to leave way before rush hour for graduation and Family Day.

It was just my husband and myself on the trip.

The Sports Bar next to the hotel has terrible food - word of warning. Their drinks were not very good either. They tasted watered down or something.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I made a reservation and told the clerk I would be arriving after midnight. She assured me that this was fine. But, when I arrived at 12:30 am, extremely tired, I found my reservation had been canceled. All rooms within a 20-30 minute drive were full and I had nowhere to stay. The clerk had taken the wrong credit card number down as well as an incorrect cellphone number. I was told that their policy was to cancel a room when the credit card did not go through and the traveler couldn't be reached on the phone. Had the numbers been taken down correctly, my credit card would have gone through and my cellphone would have been answered. My advice is to stay at the Holiday Inn Express at the Garner's Ferry Exit off I-77. They have their act together.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPManager, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
SCBeachGirl2010,
I would like to apologize about your experience at our hotel. We regret that you did not get to experience all our hotel has to offer. Should you decide to give us another chance, I assure you that this will not happen again during your next visit. Please contact sales@columbiawi.com next time you come to town so I can personally take care of your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Columbia

Address: 217 Lanneau Court, Jct. I-26 & Harbison Blvd. (Exit 103), Columbia, SC 29212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Columbia
#23 Family Hotel in Columbia
#24 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Harbison is located across the street from Columbiana Mall, directly next door to a movie theater and within walking distance to several restaurants! Discount coupons are available at the front desk to local attractions and restaurants! Guests are welcome to enjoy a complimentary, hot breakfast and use of our outdoor pool, Wi-Fi internet,business center and fitness cente. Guests also have complimentary access to Gold's Gym. Check out our brand new 32" flat screen TV's! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Columbia / Harbison Hotel Columbia
Wingate Hotel Columbia Harbison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.