We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay at a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$70 (USD)
Ranked #20 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taylors, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overnight stay at a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed Thursday night, July 5. We simply wanted a jumping off point for an early-morning visit to the Riverbanks Zoo the next day. We had selected the Columbia Comfort Inn based on the online reviews we had read. Not only were the reviews filled with praise for the hotel and staff, but the staff also replied to the reviews posted. That's a level of responsiveness which is uncommon in the service industry.

When we checked in, we were pleased with our room. The decor was very nice, and the bed absolutely huge and comfortable. The accommodations, generally, were quite good, and the location convenient not only to the zoo, but also to restaurants and shopping, as well.

The only thing which bothered us was the fact that the lighting in our room was all CFLs. Yes, I understand the motivation to use energy-efficient lighting, but CFLs do not shed very satisfactory illumination, relative to incandescent bulbs. The light shed by CFLs can, in fact, be harmful to people with certain health conditions. That aside, I cannot be wholly comfortable knowing that, if I accidentally break a CFL, it can contaminate the room and its contents with Mercury.

Still, for one night, our stay was comfortable and reasonably-priced. Breakfast in the morning was pleasant and convenient, and the desk staff was sincerely solicitous of our impressions of our visit with them. Would we stay at the Comfort Inn, Columbia, SC, again? If we planned another such visit to the zoo, or other nearby sites, we would consider it. It might enhance our stay if the staff could squirrel away a few 100 watt incandescent bulbs for our room. ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Ray F Taylors, SC
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I personally like to thank you for your choosing Comfort Inn. It is serving guests like you make our jobs worthwhile. You will always have a home away from home when staying with us. Exceeding all your expectations is what we set out to do every day. I will be passing your comments on to my TEAM who will be very pleased to hear about your positive feedback.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Faysal, GM
NOTE: I will have some incandescent bulbs available for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    107
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
115
87
48
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

But for a momentary glitch in the A/C unit in our original room, the balance of the four days we spent at this hotel was WONDERFUL!!! We had originally booked for two, maybe three, days....but ended up extending to nearly a week!!!

Front desk personnel were always accommodating for our extensions of stay; the housekeeping staff were equally accommodating and worked with me on a daily basis to assure our visit was nearly flawless with regard to more towels..and garbages out...and linen exchanged. I appreciated Lilianna and Carla while there. I even learned a bit of foreign language while interacting with Lilianna!!! I was impressed with the "green" nature of the establishment in that they made us aware that "towels on the floor should be removed/exchanged; towels on the wall mounted racks were not, thus reducing costs/energy. I LIKED that part!!!

The free breakfast a treat that I looked forward to every morning. Coffee and hot water for tea were available 24/7 and that's REALLY important to me, especially when I'm away from my house for days on end.

I'm absolutely sure I'll recommend this home away from home to anyone who might ask for referral from me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear DEB M SC
Thank you for sharing your posting on Tripadvisor.com. It is an excellent testimony of our services that will spread the word about our hotel to other potential travelers. Our staff's goal is to provide you with an experience that is a notch above the rest, by delivering customer service at it’s finest. As the General Manager of my team, I am very proud to hear that we exceeded in accomplishing this with every associate you encountered, It is not possible without there support and hard work. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you back again!
Faysal, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The carpet was filthy. I spilled a little water and went to mop it up with one of the hand towels in the room and the towel ended up black. The corners of the room were dirty especially in the bathroom. There appeared to be peanut shells on the floor between the bed and the window so obviously it hadn't been vacuumed over there. I found a dirty sock behind the chair in the room. The bathroom had an area where part of the wall was missing/torn up. I informed the desk clerk the next morning and he said why didn't we come and tell him and he would have moved us. It was after 10 at night when we got back to the room and just didn't want to deal with moving as we had had a long day and was ready to hit the sack. Not sure if we moved to another room if it would have been better, guess we should have given them the chance to get a better/cleaner room. Breakfast was OK, nothing special.

Room Tip: Check the room before you unpack and go to dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com. Customer service and an immaculate hotel are very important to our guest experience, that's why my self with my team try our level best to keep up with that commitment everyday and for the same reason We do find ourselves to be an excellent value to our guests given the inclusive amenities and benefits that we offer.
I sincerely, apologize for the inconvenience that you had to face during your recent stay. Unfortunately, we do have some travelers from time to time who disregard our policies by taking food and drinks in the rooms. I will review these comments with my Executive Housekeeper and will find ways to over come the issue of concern.
We look forward to seeing you back again so that we may show you how your feed back helped us to improve and deliver a problem-free stay to you. Thank you for staying with us!
Thank you,
Faysal, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Do you need to hear your name said when you return to a hotel? They do it every time I come in. Do you like to feel safe and secure? They are at the desk all hours or in the lobby and keep a good eye out for you. Do you like a good breakfast? They have quite the selection.
I have to say that when I travel I just don't want to feel like I am just a number and a dollar bill to the hotel I stay at. I have stayed here over 20 times and always I get the top shelf experience. Oh and I can't go on and on about the beds, but I wish I had one of those at my house. WOW I sleep well there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadia, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear drkappasig Cornelius, NC
“Best hotel in the Carolinas” WOWW
Thank you for sharing your posting on Tripadvisor.com. It is an excellent testimony of our services that will spread the word about our hotel to other potential travelers. Our staff's goal is to provide you with an experience that is a notch above the rest by delivering customer service at it’s finest. As the General Manager of my team, I am very proud to hear that we exceeded in accomplishing this with every associate you encountered. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you back again!
Faysal, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We just stayed here as passers through, it was clean, well lit at the late hour we arrived, and the staff (2nd and 3rd shift) were friendly. The room was descent and well kept. We were granted late check out at no extra charge since we arrived so late. If ever passing through here again, we would definatley stop here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadia, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear mandtmommy Atlanta, GA
Thank you for staying with Comfort Inn, Columbia SC and taking time to share your valuable feedback. I’m so happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and your stay was comfortable and upto your expectations.
Thank you again for staying with us and for making the Comfort Inn Columbia your home away fromhome, we all look forward to see you soon.
Faysal, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Our stay at the Comfort Inn in Columbia, SC (SC361) was wonderful. Our gracious host and his family and staff were always friendly and helpful. Their attention to detail and thoughtfulness included a treat for our small dog. Our room was spotless and the beds were comfortable. The parking lot has very good lighting. We enjoyed breakfast in their cheery dining area. Brenda

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadia, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Brenda923 Myrtle Beach, SC
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. I’m so happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, your breakfast experience was excellent and your stay was comfortable and up to your expectations.
My team is the reason and It is not possible without there support and hard work.
Thank you again for staying with us and for making the Comfort Inn Columbia your home away from home, we all look forward to see you soon.
Faysal, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean pleasant hotel. Very very friendly and accommodating staff. Room rates were $20 cheaper by calling the national reservation center as compared to the hotel directly. The bed was very comfortable with a solid peaceful night sleep. breakfast was perhaps the weakest link

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapadia, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear TravelLife19 Englewood, Fl
Thank you for staying with Comfort Inn, Columbia SC and taking time to share your valuable feedback. I’m so happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and your stay was comfortable and upto your expectations.
Thank you again for staying with us and for making the Comfort Inn Columbia your home away fromhome, we all look forward to see you soon.
Faysal, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 911 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
#21 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn of Columbia is located just off I-26 at exit 108A with easy access to I-20, I-126 and I-77. Minutes from downtown Columbia and the Columbia Metropolitan Airport. This pet-friendly hotel is brimming with many excellent amenities including a free Comfort Sunshine breakfast featuring hot Belgian waffles, free wireless Internet access, free USA Today, 24-hour coffee and tea service, airport shuttle, exercise room, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and banquet/meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Columbia
Comfort Inn Columbia
Columbia Comfort Inn
Columbia Days Inn
Days Inn Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.