We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get up to 10%
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elizabethtown, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel has many restaurants within walking distance. There is also a grocery store within walking distance if you need to purchase snacks or forgotten toiletries. The staff is friendly and accommodating.
It's close to the university and the state capital building.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Michael F,
Thank you so much for your comments on the Hampton Inn Columbia Downtown Historic District. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and our location. We agree that we have a unique location in the beautiful Vista area of Columbia, SC. Please come and see us again real soon and we appreciate your business. Have a great day and safe travels!!

Sincerely,
Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    95
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
90
64
35
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here two nights for a wedding in mid-July. Had a newly-renovated room on the fifth floor. Everything was first-class as always. Seems like the breakfast here is usually a slight improvement over the typical Hampton Inn fare. We love staying here because of the convenience - easy walking distance - to local restaurants and nightlife. My only slight complaint was that they started charging for parking ($12/night) since the last time we stayed here. But it's still worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear WTWDE,
Thank you so much for your awesome review on the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District! We are so glad to hear about your experience in our newly renovated rooms. We have worked so hard to bring you a fresh new product and it makes us smile from ear to ear to hear you say that. We are also happy to hear about how much you enjoyed breakfast and we agree we are a step ahead with all of our extras at breakfast. Thank you once again and have a great day.

Sincerely,
Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Spent one night in downtown Columbia with hubby. This hotel was a very good value for compared to others in the area. Nice, newly remodeled rooms. Great hot breakfast with several more options than most Jampton Inns. In a good location. Would recommend and would stay here again. Lots of restaurant options within walking distance of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear SammyJohnson3,


On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We take pride in our staff and accommodations, such as our complimentary breakfast, making your stay more of a home away from home! We love that you were able to explore and enjoy the restaurants of the Vista. Besides the wonderful people, they help make Columbia so special! Thank you so much for your kind words on TripAdvisor. Come back and stay with us anytime!

Best Wishes,
Brittany Begley
Guest Service Representative
Hampton Inn- Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed overnight so we could visit the Museum of S. C. The hotel was very convenient and easy to find. The room was comfortable and clean, but the air conditioner was very loud. The pool was not open during our visit, so that was disappointing. Overall it was a good experience and I would recommend this hotel. Be aware you will pay for parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Kristin S,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. We enjoy the fact that you loved our location and we agree that the Vista area is the premier place to stay in Columbia, SC. We are sorry to hear that the pool was closed during your stay. As you know the summer is a high demand for the pool and we have to keep it in tip top shape for you all. We hope that this does not happen again and hopefully on your next stay you are free to dive in. We would love to see you again very soon and thank you for choosing upon your travels to Columbia!!!

Sincerely,
Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were hoping to find a Hampton Inn & voila, there it was, in the most perfect location in the historic district. It was nice to park the car at the hotel & be able to walk around the area, even to the State Capitol! Starbucks is across the street & a great selection of restaurants to choose from. The staff at the hotel was so friendly & helpful. Was pleasantly surprised in the morning to a buffet breakfast that was delicious & with so many choices, we enjoyed while watching the morning news. The bedding is very cozy & had a peaceful nights sleep. We noticed the little extras that the hotel provides: night light in the bathroom, bottled water, fresh baked cookies, variety of newspapers, free WIFI & apples! I know, sort of corny, but it is the small stuff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Trisha N,

The entire staff at the Hampton Inn in downtown Columbia would like to extend a huge thank you for your wonderful comments. We are elated to hear that you were able to enjoy our wonderful location. From walking to the State House, to walking to a wonderful dinner, our property offers many opportunities to walk to attractions around Columbia. Our staff is also glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. We strive at our property to make our guests feel like they are at home with so many wonderful free amenities. It is nice to see that you enjoyed all the little things that we do at our property to make your stay that much more enjoyable. At our property we believe that it is the little things that separate us from all other hotels. We again thank you for your gracious comments, and hope to see you again very soon!

Best Wishes,
Allan Galatolo
Guest Service Representative
Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia
822 Gervais Street, Columbia SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice, location was great, everything was clean, but I came there to sleep. The bed was very hard and not relaxing at all. I hardly slept. :( The kicker is that I asked if the beds were soft at the front desk and the young guy raved about how soft the beds are. The young man should try sleeping in one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi Gayle W,

On behalf of the whole Hampton Inn management staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Columbia. We would also like to extend our sincerest apology for your issues. We use Serta Cloud 9 mattresses and have had guests rave about the comfort of our beds. Our main goal is our guests comfort and I apologize that you felt mislead by our guest service agent. Guest feedback allows us to stay focused on what matters most. It also provides us with a road map to address issues and concerns so they do not impact the next guest. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better, please let me know. We hope to see you again in the future!

Best Wishes,
Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn- Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, Sc 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have stayed twice at the Hampton Inn Columbia/Historic District and it has been a fabulous experience every time. Most recently (July 2014) I have to say the front desk staff was just above and beyond in being welcoming and helpful. He even offered to give us his parking space closer to the door when we returned in the evening. It is a clean bright beautiful hotel, spacious rooms, right in the heart of the action in the Vista area of downtown Columbia. Very convenient to I-26, the USC campus and the state house. I love the decor inside and the way the exterior building facade is in keeping with the charm of the district. We will definitely stay there again and again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear EHershey2014,

Thank you so much for choosing the Hampton Inn- Historic District for your accommodation needs. We love our downtown location and I am so glad that you have been able to enjoy the restaurants, shops, and other attractions. We appreciate all of your kind words and are excited to have you stay with us again. Thank you so much for your awesome review on TripAdvisor. Our management team and staff cannot wait to have you back at the Hampton Inn!

Best Wishes,
Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#8 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.