We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get up to 10%
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangor, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Many name brand hotels that I've stayed in were very beat up, not this one. Very nice room in great shape with a big tv and free internet. Walk to dozens of restaurants/bars including the Flying Saucer. Safe fun area of town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Christopher G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    117
    41
    5
    5
See reviews for
105
79
37
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our room was just what one might expect at a medium priced hotel. It was clean as a whistle. I stayed at the Hilton around the corner last time I was in Columbia and the major difference is in the quality of the materials in the room...more granite, nicer features. For the price difference, this is fine for a night as it was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful at every turn. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Wakanwalk,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

You can't ask for a better hotel location in Columbia. Convenient to shops and restaurants in the Vista, near downtown businesses and The State House and of course, close to the USC campus. You can walk out of the hotel's front door and eat, drink and be merry within a mere block. How can you beat that?

Other positives:
Staff is very friendly
Parking is easy, convenient and well lit
Bathrooms are clean and nice Neutrogena products

The rest is so-so. As soon as you walk off the elevator and down the hall towards your room you are blown away by the smell of bleach. The good news is that you know they're focused on cleaning. The bad news is that the bleach smell is overpowering.

Bed is comfortable, but the pillows are really tiny and squishy and the reek of bleach :(

We've stayed here several times and this is the first time the bleach has been noticeable. Hopefully they'll dial it back a bit in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear SandBAtlanta,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! We will definitely work to reduce the smell of bleach and we deeply apologize that it effected your trip. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The property has an excellent location in the Vista. The hotel is close to great bars and restaurants and serves the area well. The front desk staff were not very friendly or helpful but the check-in was relatively painless. The hotel room was very clean and very serviceable. The hotel common areas are very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was consistent with the Hampton breakfast. Easy parking and very convenient. Although we were a bit concerned that we had to pay $12 for parking but the lot was not secured and anyone could enter without paying.

The price can be a bit steep due to location but overall this property is worth it if you are doing something in the Vista or attending a concert at the arena. I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Brian V.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We have noted your concerns about our parking lot and deeply apologize that the parking gate was not in operation during your stay. We have repaired our parking gate to secure our lot and have 24 hour video surveillance on the lot and exterior areas of the building. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great location. Walking distance of great food and entertainment. I felt safe in and around the hotel. Don't expect a lot from the staff though. They are not rude, just don't seem to know you are there. HHonors Member don't be disappointed if you are not recognized.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Brian V.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. I deeply apologize for the lack of enthusiasm you experienced from our front desk staff. That kind of experience is not anywhere near our standard of excellence and we will make sure this does not happen again in the future. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My family and I stayed because of the ice storm that hit our city. We were in need of a warm shower and heat. The staff made our stay wonderful. THey were extremely nice and assissted in anything we need. I hope to stay here again but without the circumstances of our initial stay .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jason S.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We hope you do come see us under better circumstances, perhaps for a night on the town! It really is nice to stay in such a centrally located hotel and walk to all the great restaurants and shops in the Vista. Thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Location is fantastic. The old brick look blends into a underrated city in Columbia. Leave your car when you check into hotel. Everything is within walking distance. Quality hotel room and best by far Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Daniel B.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Thank you for voting us your #1 Hampton Inn, because we strive to exceed our guests' expectations everyday.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
Taylor.Johnson@Hilton.com
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Family Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#8 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.