We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for downtown business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get up to 10%
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location for downtown business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to. The staff was really nice. The evening snacks and drinks were great. The room was large and well appointed. The hot breakfast was great. Can't getuch better than that. Part of the Hilton Honors program too for frequent travelers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Playright.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I am glad that you found our hotel easy to find and that you were able to enjoy all of our extras. Thanks for posting the great pictures so future guests can see what we have to offer.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    117
    41
    5
    5
See reviews for
105
79
37
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alto, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location downtown with easy walk to fun restaurants and bars. Nice hotel, great staff. No issues with my stay, and I will use this hotel again on future trips to the area for business or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Scott L.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. The Vista is a wonderful location full of bars and restaurants that are an easy walk from the hotel, which is a plus!! Glad to see that your stay was enjoyable and it's wonderful to know we will be seeing you again.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel charges for everything. When you check in, and everything else os booked, they charge you $12.00 to park you car. HOW RUDE!!!! Additionally, when you complain, they say, oh well! The Hilton around the corner is much better.

Room Tip: dont come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Frank P.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I hate to see that your experience was not above your expectations. We do charge for parking to ensure a safe and secure area for our guests, but we also offer free wireless internet, free hot breakfast, a Monday - Thursday complimentary Evening Reception, and don't forget the hot cookies waiting for you every evening. I hate that our staffs' hospitality didn't shine and if your travels bring you back to the Columbia area please feel free to contact me at the given number below, and I will personally assist you with your reservation needs.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
(803) 231-2000
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not sure why this has to be 200 characters. But here you go. Now charging for parking my affect my decision to stay at this hotel in the future. I have always stayed at this location when I had business at the University of South Carolin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Terri L.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I hate to hear that our parking charges change your opinion of our hotel. I hope that the advantages of location, free wi-fi and hot breakfast out weigh the cost of parking.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is my 3rd time staying at the hotel and I like everything about it. It is within walking distance of many restaurants. The rooms are quiet and the air is always perfectly set. I like to stay at the Hampton Inns because they offer everything I need to have a pleasant trip. They beds are very comfortable and it is almost like sleeping at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Anne C.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We love to see returning guests and we are glad you feel at home when staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This property is conveniently located adjacent to the convention center. Hot breakfast is included and changes slightly daily. Apples and coffee available all day and cookies in the afternoon a plus! Only negative is pricey uncovered parking and hotel front opening to gated parking lot -- awkward for pedestrians. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear David G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Being a "stone's throw away" from the convention center is a great perk of the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our daily breakfast that gives a little variety each morning, and nothing beats coming back from work to a fresh hot cookie. Please understand that while parking does cost it is the only way that we are able to provide a secure parking area for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Ridge, MD, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very nice hotel and reasonably priced in the "Vista" end of town. Nice restaurants right next door to the hotel and if the weather is nice, 15 minute walk to the Horseshoe. Breakfast was good and the reception staff seemed knowledgable and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear John G,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I am glad that we were able to be your home while touring the University of South Carolina. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and evening reception. Our staff takes pride in being "Local Area Experts" so it's excellent that you found them knowledgeable and efficient in assisting you.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia (maybe the next 4 years)!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Family Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#8 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.