We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home-Towne Suites Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Home-Towne Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Home-Towne Suites Columbia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Columbiana Drive, Columbia, SC 29212 (Formerly TownePlace Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I just wanted a little getaway for a night, not far from Charlotte NC. He found this Marriott property with such a special rate, we couldn't refuse! Easy to find, right off the highway and large shopping mall, the TownePlace Suites is a very cute hotel! Although we only needed it for the night, it offers a lot of conveniences for those needing to stay longer and/or with families.

The rooms are all suites with a queen size bed and a pull out sofa bed too! There was also another chair, a desk, TV, small full kitchen, a huge closet and a bathroom with tub, shower, etc.

They serve a pretty complete breakfast in the morning in their small, but bright, breakfast room. Waffles, OJ, bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, assortment of cereals, coffee and tea. There's even a swimming pool in the front of the property, small but more than appropriate for a quick swim or for kids to romp around in with adult supervision.

The front desk staff was very friendly and personable. They have a computer room, free wifi in your rooms (most hotels charge for that these days!). Coffee and tea in the lobby, along with cold, lemon-flavored water greeted us when we arrived and where available in the afternoons.

We wanted to explore what Columbia had to offer and this hotel was very convenient to the main area. We found some excellent restaurants (which I also reviewed - Cellar on the Green, Blue Marlin and Little Pig's Barbeque - which were all great) and some other interesting sights.....the capital building/square, walk along the Congaree River, and a thriving nightlife in the Five Points area. We also found a cute place called SpeakEasy in this area with live Jazz. Just great!

If I can offer one point to the hotel, while they had 2 mirrors in the suite, both of them were in the bathroom! One is needed in the room itself.....

Overall, this hotel offers a great respite at a very affordable price for any budget. Check it out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley J, Director of Sales at Home-Towne Suites Columbia, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
RoseD

Thank you so much for your review of our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! If there is anything we can do for you here at TownePlace Suites Columbia Northwest/Harbison, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thanks again Rose!

Warm Regards,

Ashley - Director of Sales
350 Columbiana Drive
Columbia, SC 29212

(803) 781-9391 jordana@gfhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
19
12
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel aug 11. Check in was quick and gentleman was courteous. room was clean except tub looked like it needed a good cleaning. I. our second day at this hotel when we left room and came back, our room was not cleaned. I guess if u have your do not disturb sign on door when housekeeping comes around u don't get room cleaned for that day even if removed when u leave. We left room at 2:00pm. Every other hotel I have been to, the housekeeper will come back before end of shift to check all the rooms that she did not clean because of sign. This happened twice to us that our room was
not cleaned. Then the maintenance man brought some man to our room to look out our window so he knew where to bring his lift claiming someone on third floor was locked out there room and they had to use lift to try to get in guest room. Manager gave same story. So u mean to tell me that if a guest gets locked out their room the only way to get them back in their room is thru a window that does not sound right at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed overnight here from about midnight while we were driving through. Don't look for this to be anything more than a clean, yet spartan night accommodation. The Front desk offered no assistance in calling for directions either. Seemed as if the front desk clerk barely knew how to get himself to the property. But for $49 a night with the Marriott flag, you cant complain about too much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were on our way to the beach and stopped in Columbia for the night. I have a family of 5 and also had my mother with us. Towne Place's 2BR suites are the perfect set up for a family of our size for a short time period. They have efficiently laid out the room so we could accommodate everyone when we used the sleeper sofa. The check in and check out was efficient. When we arrived, they already had a crib set up in our room as requested. The room was clean and it is literally around the corner from the mall and other amenities. There is only one bathroom so it would be tough for multiple nights in my opinion, but for a short stay, it was great. My only low point was that they didn't have wi-fi in the rooms. You had to either plug in directly with ethernet or go down to the lobby. Not a deal breaker for a short stay, but would have been a deterrent on a long stay.

Room Tip: I like the upstairs because it is a little quieter. We were in 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had two previous one night stays at this location before in the last two months and had no issues, however, my experience on May 18th made up for the past two stays. I arrived about 4pm to check in, the hotel clerk, "Teicha" seemed very pleasant. When she asked for my ID and credit card, I simply said to her that I will not be taking out my ID card from my wallet and showed it to her. Why? I had recently purchased a new wallet and it was difficult to get the ID card out. Her response to me was "I didn't ask you all that ma'am, I just wanna see your ID". As an elite member I asked her if I could get an upgrade, she said no. I asked her why, and she stated there were no upgrade rooms available. At that point, I thought there was another Towne Place Suites and I could call them to see if they had any updraded rooms and I would just switch my reservations. I asked "Teicha" if it was too late to cancel my reservations. She said no. As I am on my phone looking up the number for the other location, Ms "Teicha" informed me that she went ahead and cancelled my reservations. I asked her why did she do that and she mumbled something about it being easier than having to go back and credit my account. I stated that I did not ask her to cancel my reservation and she said yes I did. We went back and forth about 4 times on this. She proceeded to tell me that I was rude and furthermore she will NOT check me in, and that I could do whatever I wanted to do, AND she walked away from the front desk and went to an office to her left and closed the door. I am standing there in complete shock, not believing what I just heard. I shouted out excuse me and she returned with a smirk on her face. I asked to speak to her manager and she said there was noone else there, only her and she was not going to check me in. To confirm, and still in shock, I asked a few more times and she stated that my reservations had already been cancelled and she was not going to check me in. I went to my car and called the Marriott complaint line. After a half hour on the phone documenting my issue, Dennis stated that my reservation was not showing as cancelled. I was furious now. I was now determined that Ms "Teicha" would check me in. I asked Dennis to confirm everything so that I would have minimal contact with her.
Round 2. I returned to the front desk and she is standing there with a stupid grin on her face. Again, I said I am checking in, she asked for my cc/ID. and again she responded " I didn't ask you all that" in reference to the ID card. I asked her why did she lie and why was she behaving this way. her response was "I didn't lie". I asked for late check out she stated she would put it in the computer that I could check out at 1pm. Of course I did not believe her. The room was clean but the lights in the kitchen and the mini hallway were not working. Also there were only four sheets of paper towel left on the roll.
Round 3. About 9am on Sunday morning, I woke up to a constant knocking on my door. I get up to check and its housekeeping wanting to know if I had checked out. What the hell? I stated that I had late check out and went back to bed. Guess what! At 10am I hear knocking again, I decided to ignore it, but it continued. It was housekeeping AGAIN! I asked them to please leave me alone and stop harrassing me. At 11.45am, as I was about to take a shower, I hear knocking AGAIN!!! It's housekeeping wanting to know if I have late checkout. Again I said yes I do through the door, and went to take my shower. As I emerged from the shower, I heard knocking AGAIN!!! It's now 12:10pm and its two of them, the supervisor of housekeeping along with the housekeeper. The supervisor looking through her paper work asks "Are you staying another night?" With the door cracked and a towel wrapped around me,I responded no, I have late check out. She responds by telling me its not on her list. I its not my fault if its not on your list. The supervisor tells me that it was my fault. At this point, I just slammed the door and immediately called the front desk and let them have it. I was tired and couldnt take it anymore. I told "Tawanna" who answered, that this was the worst service I had ever had at any hotel and that I would never, ever return to this location, and probably the Marriott chain; and that I would not be leaving until 1:30 since I was interrupted so many times. She hung up on me. Please tell me why at 1:03pm the housekeeper is knocking AGAIN!!! I did not even go to the door, I just shouted out that I will be gone by 1:30 and will never be back. At 1:15pm I left Rm 110 and will never go back. Let's see if the manager of this location will respond to the complaint I filed. Horrendous service!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room was nice, clean. It had a full kitchen did not use as this was just a stopover on the way to Florida. Close to highway, not too hard to find. Plenty of restaurants near by. Staff was very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room are clean as is the bathroom and hallways. The price is reasonable, $80.00, and the breakfast was more than adequate. There are numerous restaurants nearby. Although it is near the highway the room was very quiet. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home-Towne Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home-Towne Suites Columbia

Address: 350 Columbiana Drive, Columbia, SC 29212 (Formerly TownePlace Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home-Towne Suites Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting the Greater Columbia area for business, we hope you will also leisurely enjoy attractions such as The University of South Carolina, Riverbanks Zoo, Lake Murray, and the State Capitol, all located nearby. Known for delivering comfort & convenience, TownePlace Suites Northwest Harbison is the ideal hotel for travelers, whether for short or longer stays. Our all suite property has all of the amenities to be your "Home Away From Home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Home-Towne Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Columbia Northwest/Harbison Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home-Towne Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.