We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sumptuous sandwiches and salads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jason's Deli

Jason's Deli
823 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3167
803-540-1973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 798 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Deli Sandwiches Soup Salad
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“sumptuous sandwiches and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

New style store making great deli sandwiches and a great salad selection to go with the salad bar

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Jason's has a wide variety of sandwiches, soup and salad options -- plus free ice cream with each meal. I have been several times and am always impressed by the staff's friendliness. When using a cane following a knee operation, one of the waitresses offered to carry my plate at the salad bar. This is the kind of attitude that I have come to expect at Jason's and that has to come from the top. For certain combos (soup and salad, I think) they even have a self-service terminal set up where you can pay by credit card, order your meal, and pick it up without having to wait in line -- great idea even though I have not used it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A welcome addition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I'd never heard of Jason's Deli until a few months before they opened. My wife was more familiar and she was a fan. We've eaten there about 4-5 times and have not been disappointed. Considering it must cost them a little more to get higher-quality meats and produce you get great value for the price.

For a chain, they have excellent chili. The salad bar is very good too, and if you like strawberry shortcake there are few places in town that offer better. Of course the free ice cream is always a nice treat. You won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Deli Foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Jason's is a really unique approach to casual dining. They have great tasting food for either those wanting a really hearty meal or those watching their shape. I recently ordered their Mediterranean Wrap and was delighted at the taste and consistency. The wrap contained an organic wheat wrap, turkey breast, roasted red pepper hummas, cucumbers, red onions, kalamate olives, roma tomatoes and organic field greens, great taste and for $6.19 comes with a side of your choice (steamed veggies, tuna penne pasta salad, Italian pasta salad, American potato salad, or fresh fruit). The wrap's nutritionals were 320 calories, 11 g. total fat, 2g saturated fat. If you want to go the other way nutritionally they have one of the very best hot roast beef sandwiches and au jus that you can find. The Reuben is also fantastic. The fact that you can custom design your sandwich and choose from a detailed list of breads, meats, and toppings is worthy of note. They also have extensive salad offerings and Pasta as well. They have a very healthy chicken breast sandwich. The restaurant is very clean to include a well put together salad bar, and soft serve ice cream is included in the price of your meal. The staff is very friendly and stops by the table to make sure that your meal is properly prepared. This chain has been my "go to" place while on business trips and now that they have opened in Columbia I will be a constant visitor.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Large portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I went in to place a to go order. The staff was friendly and helpful. They wrapped everything up really well. The Ruben was HUGE. I would say that there was at least a pound of corned beef on this sandwich. The broccoli cheese soup was great.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jason's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Jason's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jason's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.