We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time being scared in a Country Inn and Suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Piney Grove Road, Columbia, SC 29210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #49 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“First time being scared in a Country Inn and Suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

As a Club Carlson member we choose Country Inns and Suites as often as possible in our travel. We find them to be clean and comfortable with great ammenities at a reasonable price. We recently booked a 2 night stay at the location at Harbison in Columbia, SC. We arrived on Friday evening late and were immediately greeted with loud laughter and chatter from a couple of ball teams staying there. As parents of a volleyball player we take this in stride because we know that our daughter's team is just as loud. No problem. We checked in and upon opening our door I immediately checked the beds as I always do. No bed bugs, but there were some stains and hair on the sheet of one of the double beds. No kings were available. We choose the clean bed and slept comfortably despite some of the noise in the hallway. The great thing about the layout of the room is that you can close your bedroom door and the living room area absorbs most of the noise. We slept well and went downstairs for the free breakfast. Unfortunately it had been cleaned out by the ball players so we choose to leave the hotel and go to a restaurant. A bit disappointing but we aren't that hard to please. We were seeing the Kenny Chesney concert that evening so were gone from the hotel all day and arrived back that evening at almost midnight.

When we entered the elevator we were joined by 2 men who seemed to be totally out of their minds on something. Definitely had not simply been drinking. Total different behavior. They were mumbling to each other and one decided to get back off while the other rode up to the 4th floor with us. He mumbled stuff all the way up and made us feel very uneasy. When we got off the elevator to head to our room there were 2 ladies in the hallway that were with this man. He started screaming at them and then a young girl, around 12 years old came out from their room and he started yelling and cursing at her. We went into our room as quickly as possible but were very aware that there was still a big commotion in the hallway. It then was obvious that someone was slapped very hard and there was screaming and crying. At that point the other man who had gotten off the elevator appeared back on the 4th floor and there was more yelling, cursing and threatening which went on and on. At one point I heard the word gun and was very alarmed. I called down to the front desk and was told that other rooms had already reported this and that she had already "made a call". We closed the door to the bedroom and tried to go to sleep. My husband drifted on and off but I was too afraid to sleep. The noise in the hallway continued on until I finally drifted off for a couple of hours.

We checked out the next morning and was absolutely shocked to see that the ladies and the girl were in the lobby checking out as well. I couldn't believe that the party was not made to leave the hotel. Another couple behind us told me that they had not slept well due to the noise from the night. They were on the 2nd floor and could hear all the chaos from the 4th floor, which indicates how loud this was. She commented that the police was there at 3:13 and turned off their lights but it was 1:25 when I called the front desk! Either the police weren't called, they didn't show up, or the episode lasted for hours. In this day and age, that is unacceptable. There is too much violence to allow this type of behavior. When my husband went out to put luggage in the car the 2 men were in the parking lot working on their car. They were just laughing and carrying on like nothing had happened. I talked to the lady at the front desk and voiced my concerns. She gave me the manager's card and asked me to call her the following Tuesday as she is off on Mondays. I called Jackie Anderson, the manager and spoke to her. She said that she was told of the incident but was under the impression given to her that the guests were made to leave. She then asked me to call her on Friday so that she could investigate. When I called her back she told me that the people had been allowed to stay becuase there were NO rooms available in Columbia that night. Really?????? She told me that since we had cashed in 10,000 of our points toward our stay that she would be adding points to our account and we should see them within 2 business days. This was on Friday, May 10th and we have still not been credited. I called her and left a message with Robin at the front desk since Ms. Andersons voice mail is full. She was to call me back but still has not. I am very upset at the poor customer service and the total disregard for guest security. We will wait to see if she follows up with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Kim W,

We thank you for your recent stay with us and appreciate your feedback so that we may improve our Guest Services. We apologize on the cleanliness of the guest room and will forward your comments to the Executive Housekeeper. We will do a better job of keeping the breakfast items stocked, even when we have a full house.

We do take seriously the safety of our guests and after the police were called and spoke to the guests who were causing a disturbance, they agreed to modify their behavior so as not to be asked to leave the hotel as there were no available hotel rooms in Columbia due to the sold-out Kenny Chesney concert and other city-wide events.

I have sent you a private email to request additional information to resolve this issue quickly as we value your business as a Club Carlson member and hope to see you return to our hotel in Columbia, SC and many of our other hotels throughout the US. Our goal is to provide you and all of our guests with the best customer service. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The exterior and lobby looked nice and the front desk attendant was pleasant, but our room was a different story. Countless scuff marks and something smeary-looking on the walls, a chunk of something brown in the corner, ants crawling around near the window, and a thick layer of dust on the front of the bathroom vanity. Yuck! We spent five minutes in the room, then left to find something better. Also, the location isn't technically in Harbison, it's one exit down the road in a slightly less desirable area. Luckily we found a beautiful and spotless room at the Hilton Garden Inn in Harbison for the exact same price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Bear-k2,

Thank you for staying with us at Country Inn & Suites-Harbison and we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that your check-in went well and that the Front Desk was helpful and pleasant but apologize that we failed you on condition of your guest room. The cleanliness and maintenance of our Guest Rooms is very important to us and we certainly will share your comment with the Housekeeping and Maintenance Staff to ensure that these issues are addressed as this is not the norm for us. Our location, although not technically on Harbison Blvd, gives you the benefits of the shopping and dining options of the Harbison area without the traffic congestion typical of Harbison Blvd.

We hope that when your travels take you through Columbia, SC, you will give us another chance to prove ourselves to you so that you may experience the “Be Our Guest” philosophy of Country Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed there on May 8th and could not have been more pleased. The staff member that checked us in was WONDERFUL! He was so kind...brought the children Cheetos and gave us fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. We were very impressed with his thoughtfulness. We also enjoyed the pool that evening. Breakfast was good, even though we arrived in the breakfast room at almost 9am...the food was still hot and fresh. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable and staff was friendly. We had NO issues with the internet. Definitely a nice place to stay on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Susan TW,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites-Harbison and pleased that your experience was wonderful. We pride ourselves on being the hotel for you and your family. Our entire staff works hard to live up to the “Be Our Guest” motto of Country Inn & Suites. Housekeeping’s goal is to provide a clean, comfortable guest rooms just like your own home and our Complimentary Hot Breakfast is the perfect way to start your day. We hope to be able to serve you again next time your travels bring you to Columbia, SC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I'm a road warrior and generally stay at either Country Inn or Holiday Inn Express. What I have found with Country Inn, is they vary greatly from location to location. Some of them have an older interior, some are a slightly newer design and have a newer feel. One common theme is the usually friendly staff at the front desk. This was my first time staying at the Country Inn in Columbia. The staff was remarkably unfriendly, which shocked me, because I have never come across an unfriendly Country Inn staff. Also, the hotel, for being a relatively newer property, just wasn't that nice. The breakfast lacked, the room had broken parts (broken soap dish in shower), greasy head board, stains on carpet in guest room. I wasn't completely disgusted, but I was not impressed with this property by any stretch. Lots of hotels in the area; stay elsewhere is my suggestion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear autiger 3313,

We appreciate your comments on your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites-Harbison and thank you for your business. We know that as a Road Warrior, you have many options in the Columbia area and certainly want to count you as one of our loyal customers. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations and we take your comments very seriously as we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests. We want your check-in to be smooth and effortless after a long day on the road and will take corrective action to ensure that every Front Desk personnel understands the importance of providing superior customer service. I will share your comments about the condition of the guest room with our Maintenance Staff so that they may handle these issues.

We hope that on your next business trip to Columbia, SC, you will give us an opportunity to show you how much we value you as a Country Inn & Suites customer and ensure that you are a member of Club Carlson so that you can earn free nights and other perks as a Club member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed here several times. Always clean, friendly and has an amazing pool. At times the hottub wasnt working but you find that at most places. The free hot breakfast in the morning is very good and they tend to run it longer in the morning than most. Great stay for the price.

Room Tip: I have found the 2nd floor best. Just make sure you ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great value and convenient to shopping and dining. The staff was so amazing and helpful, especially Daniel who was working the desk that afternoon. He reminded me of a maitre domo at a luxuryresort the way he took care of all of our needs which included recommending a restaurant. His suggestion turned out to be a wonderful dining experience. The room was spotless and the beds were cozy. The breakfast was enjoyable. Overall, an excellent experience. So glad we chose to stay. I could not ask for better for a short visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This property looks wonderful from the outside but is a different story once in the rooms. It is advertised as brand new so it is hard to understand how dirty the rooms are. Here is our experience. Arrived at 6:00 pm(check-in is 3 pm) and were given the passkey to a 3rd floor suite which upon entering was found not cleaned or ready for occupancy. Returned to the front desk. Apparently they had no way of knowing it wasn't ready. Then we moved to a suite on the same floor that backed on to the elevator shaft. Very noisy especially after a tour bus had just checked in. Back to the front desk. Asked to be moved away from the elevator and was given the passkey to a 4th floor room that we were told would be ready after dinner. Arrived back from dinner and was intercepted on the way to the room and given another passkey, this time for a 2nd floor suite. Never did see the 4th floor room. Carpet was filthy as were the air vents.Lots of mold around the shower walls and under the counter top where the sink was attached at the back. 2 bath towels were all that were provided and no bathmat. No iron or ironing board. Walls very thin as you could hear the guests in the next room talking. Don't they use soundproofing between rooms anymore? Breakfast was mediocre at best. Asked for a receipt when checking out and was asked if I had not received one under the door. Answered no and the front desk clerk, after some searching, thought that it had likely gone to the 4th floor room where we registered. Guess somebody else has my receipt. So much for identity theft. We were very disappointed and expected better from Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison

Address: 414 Piney Grove Road, Columbia, SC 29210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Columbia Harbison
Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Columbia Harbison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.