We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, But Not Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse

Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse
900 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 748-0540
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 839 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Was in town on business and wanted a local flavor. This is a great old building with a neat atmosphere. Close to USC and an overall nice area. Beer was mediocre, and the food was okay. I could see this being a really cool place to hang out with friends after work, but not the greatest for the business traveler. No TVs at the bar and the bartender wasn't much of a conversationalist. I gave it 4 stars because I could see really enjoying it under different circumstances, but it was just okay this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    39
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, beer, and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Was looking for something different before we went to a concert and had read about the HG. It was great. Atmosphere was very neighborly, not too collegient. Really interesting old building Pizza and beer was outstanding. So glad we stopped by will definitely return. Be prepared to hunt down a parking space and walk. Only meters in this area.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, VA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The beer was good (especially enjoyed the ESB) and all four of us liked the food as well. Only negative was the seating yourself with the restaurant being full and busy when we arrived. After we were able to be seated, service was good and prompt. Try the macaroni and cheese! Pizza was good too. Enjoyed the unique setting.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“they know how to cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We went to the Hunter-Gatherer Thursday night, and even if you read this post days/weeks/months from now, we will still be thinking about the Chicken Ravioli. For those of you who aren’t familiar with H-G, this Columbia establishment has been brewing and serving their own “English-style ales” since 1995. They also know how to cook. The kitchen opens at 11:30am Tuesday-Friday and 4:00pm Monday and Saturday, and offers a standard menu that you can find everyday (including the Smoked Chicken Ravioli) and an ever-changing selection of 3-6 daily specials.

Read more at...

http://capitalcityeatz.com/columbia_sc_restaurants/hunter-gatherer-brewery/

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food! Fantastic beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is really cool. I had the perogies and they were fantastic. As a polish fella my standards were high and met. I also enjoyed One of their beers the ESB. I was one of the best I have ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.