We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craft Brews & Carolina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Ale House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carolina Ale House
277 Columbiana Dr, Columbia, SC 29212-2277
803-407-9822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 840 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Craft Brews & Carolina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

An excellant discovery on Columbiana Drive, featuring a wide selection of craft brews on tap. The menu is a jumble of SC Low Country with pub fare. Sitting out on the patio, with a cold one, makes for a great end to the day. Service was very good. Definately on the list for a return visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    20
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Ate on the patio and enjoyed the good food and cool breeze!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The food is OK, you can smoke outside in a covered deck area, lots of TVs.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, SC, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My friends and I ate here after a long and stressful two weeks of working away from our family and friends. The service and quality of food we received was an excellent way to help alleviate our stress before our final day in town. Dana was our waitress and impressed our entire table with her service. She made sure that our drinks never went empty and that all of our questions about the menu were answered. She also was not afraid to make recommendations regarding food, and her advice was spot on! I ordered the Chicken Club Pizza (I think that's what it's called), and it was excellent and just the right size. We finished off the night with Dessert Nachos. Wow ... bring some friends if you want to eat on this beast! It's great! Overall, I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone seeking a good meal at a reasonable price, especially in an area that is rife with restaurants.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, MA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good stuff for the family or just the guys to watch the game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Been here 2 times:

First time - Went here to watch the Patriots beat up the Colts. Great beer selection. Great pub fare. Good prices. There was a descent football crowd that night, and because most were Colts fans, we had a good time rattling thier cages. It was fun to see them upset.

Second time - Went here with my wife, child, brother, nephew, and grandfather. Good stuff for a family. Accomodating seating for a booster seat and baby seat. Descent prices for normal meals. Again, great beer selection.

I assume this place is 'nothing special' but I love pubs/ale houses. So I guess I'm biased.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.