We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many activities for children and adults” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Carolina State Museum

South Carolina State Museum
301 Gervais St, Columbia, SC
+1 803-898-4921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 93 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The South Carolina State Museum is a state-of-the-art facility featuring four floors of permanent and changing exhibits, a digital dome planetarium, 4D interactive theater and an observatory. The State Museum, the largest and most comprehensive museum in the state, is located along the banks of the Congaree River in downtown Columbia, South Carolina.
Johns Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Many activities for children and adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

There was something to see for both adults and children. Children will like the the hands on activities and adults when the museum takes you down memory lane. We spent over three hours and enjoyed the experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAsnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More fun and educational than I thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The museum was a spontaneous choice and I'm glad we went. The museum exhibits were really interesting and my son loved the bone room and searching for fossils. The museum was small but comprehensive and we learned a lot about SC history.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JesusAboveAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Weekend with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went to the Museum and was very impressed with all the exhibits. There are four floors and a lot of information. Very educatonal as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Special Exhibits are Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Keep an eye on their website because they seem to do a lot of $1.00 admission days where then you only need to pay the $8.00 or so for the special exhibit.

We went during the Titanic exhibit last time and it was very well done.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DerekA0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Control the Kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

While this museum had nice displays and interesting exhibits, one could hardly concentrate because of the group of rowdy elementary students visiting. They ran noisily around the displays and even were crawling under the seats and chasing each other in the theater during a film. Chaperones need to control their troops and if not, museum personnel should step in.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank trackandcccoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Carolina State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing