We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solstice Kitchen

Solstice Kitchen
841-4 Sparkleberry Lane, Columbia, SC 29229
8037886966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Solstice Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 824 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clemson Road
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the first visit to the restaurant and wine bar. Great selection of wine from reasonable to expensive wines. The food was fantastic, perfectly cooked pork tenderloin and buttermilk fried chicken. The service was attentive without being pushy. The pacing was quite nice, and everyone from the bartender to the server did a wonderful job.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    115
    30
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very friendly staff, diverse menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A co-worker suggested this location for a dinner date. I have lived in Columbia for a year and I have been to the Solstice Kitchen several times. This is probably one of the best resturants in the greater Columbia, S.C. area. I made a reservation at noon for 8 pm that evening. The staff was courteous and the food was excellent. Solstice also has a great wine menue, as well as a great desert menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Our favorite restaurant in Columbia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

There is nothing we do not love about Solstice. Even if it is not on the menu, you must ask for the Krispy Kreme Bread Pudding for dessert - a m a z i n g! We love the local greens and produce in the heirloom tomato salad, fresh, beautiful fish and who can overlook the hand made fresh cocktails. Perfect for date nights and special occasions!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Busy Bistro-type restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The wine list is varied and good. just had appetizers and drinks. my date had the pulled pork spring rolls and loved them! I had raw oysters, a special that day, and we shared a cheese plate. oysters were good and fresh and cheese plate was delicious.
He had beer and I had the individual bottles of some domestic champagne which I wish was a little better. Also wish they had half bottles of champagne like Blue Fin (nearby) did. we sat at the bar since they were booked (early 5ish on a saturday) but it was restaurant week and they did want to seat us at a table later since one opened up. All in all, worth the visit, will return perhaps to try the baked brie or crab finger... Unfortunately, the Sandhills area is quite a drive for us near Irmo, and one of us has to stay sober to drive or we would probably return more often.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Solstice is the best restaurant in the Columbia area in my opinion. They offer cuisine and wines that you do not see in the Columbia area. My favorite indulgence is the Gouda Mac & Cheese. The atmosphere of the restaurant and staff are always wonderful and makes Solstice my first choice when dining out. There is also a private room that can seat 10 or so people in what looks like thier wine cellar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solstice Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Solstice Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solstice Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.