We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best zoo for family fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden

Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden
500 Wildlife Pkwy, Columbia, SC 29210
803.779.8717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Attractions in Columbia
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular zoo best known for its beautiful butterfly gardens and family-friendly atmosphere.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best zoo for family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved this zoo! It was so fun feeding the giraffes and seeing the elephants! Very clean with friendly staff. A must see!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    232
    56
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Day at the Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our first trip to the Riverbanks Zoo and we had a great time. The monkeys and the tiger were the only animals we really couldn't get a good view of. All of the other animals were out and about. We especially enjoyed the aquarium, lots of tropical fish and snakes. The Giraffe experience was by far the best ever!! We have tons of pic of us touching them and feeding them. We loved our day!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wild side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Checked out the zoo with 6 grandkids in tow...everyone had a great time, lots of animals out and moving...some exhibits under construction but still plenty to look at...maybe a couple more monkeys could help

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This zoo has the perfect mix of outdoor and indoor attractions. Most of the outdoor areas either have shade or fans or misting stations...which was great when the heat index was 103. We did not feel overheated at all!
Being able to feed and pet the giraffes was amazing!
If we make it back to Columbia, we'll definitely plan another visit to the Riverbank Zoo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Riverbanks Zoo - Always a Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We go often to the Riverbanks Zoo, which we are members. They have a wonderful garden section on top, where we will park our car (the lower section is often crowded). The grandchildren love the animal and reptile exhibits... food a little pricey. Overall - we love it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.