We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden

Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden
500 Wildlife Pkwy, Columbia, SC 29210
803.779.8717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 Attractions in Columbia
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular zoo best known for its beautiful butterfly gardens and family-friendly atmosphere.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Graniteville SC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We used to go here a lot when kids was small. Always been nice zoo. Very nice zoo to see if you are in town and looking for something to do. Hey have Halloween night and a Christmas night but they sell out get your tickets early if you want to go on these nights.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    233
    56
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SportsFan2007
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“amazing zoo for a relatively small city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have been to my fair of zoos across the country, and Riverbanks is one of the best, especially considering Columbia isn't a huge city. Great zoo for kids, though I know all zoos are great for kids ,but this one has a ton of interactive things that you dont see at most zoos like feeding giraffes or birds. Free parking is a nice perk too!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Zoo to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited the zoo on the way to Atlanta and it was a great, relaxing time. The koala made my trip. Loved the lion too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo and gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I love zoo's and this is a very nice one. The gardens are in front. You can't see them all right away, some are hidden off to the sides so take some time to find them all. There is a ride from the back garden to the bridge or you can walk; It was maybe about 1/3 of a mile. There were lots of nice exhibits. Don't skip the kangaroos It was the first time I was ever in a large animal exhibit that had the animals roaming in there with you. The aquarium was very nice. My niece loved the penguins (ok, so did I). Worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely Zoo To Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First of all the zoo is very easy to find off the highway. The parking lot is a easy walk to the entrance of the zoo. This was important to us because we visited with my 81 year old mother who can't walk long distances. Upon entering the zoo, there is a nicely stocked store with items you may have forgotten at home. The stroller/wheelchair rental is very close to the entrance along with restrooms, sitting areas, etc.

The layout of the zoo is exceptional. The food areas are all centrally located throughout the zoo. We had lunch at the Kenya Café which was reasonably priced. The food was good and they offered healthy selections.

I especially enjoyed the Giraffe, Kangaroo, and Penguin/birdhouse habitat areas. Currently, there is a baby Giraffe and baby Koala Bear. This zoo is very educational compared with others I have visited. They have several scheduled feeding times posted.

This zoo also has a wonderful Botanical Garden which is exceptional. There is a tram ride to the garden which is included in your admission and very enjoyable. I love gardening and I really enjoyed this!

There is a children's area with train/pony rides and a carrousel. For the adventurer, there is also a sky-high ropes course and rock climbing wall. Extra fees are required for this.

The zoo is extremely clean and well thought out. If your in the area, you should definitely plan a visit to Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden.

VISITING TIP: IF YOU PLAN A VISIT ON TUESDAY, BRING TWO (2) NON-PARISHABLE ITEMS AND YOU SAVE ON ONE ADMISSION. THIS GOES ON FROM NOW UNTIL AUGUST 27, 2013.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.