We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boo at the Zoo...Fantastic once in!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden

Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden
500 Wildlife Pkwy, Columbia, SC 29210
803.779.8717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 104 things to do in Columbia
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular zoo best known for its beautiful butterfly gardens and family-friendly atmosphere.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Boo at the Zoo...Fantastic once in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Boo at the Zoo was a great time. Going to the zoo at night with the tree lights, costumes, and other activities is a fantastic time. Only major complaint is lack of traffic and parking control. Took ~30 minutes just to get in the parking lot and another 10 minutes to find a spot. Several off duty police officers just standing around and chatting. But aside from that, we did have a wonderful time walking the park, and letting the kids trick or treat at the dozens of candy spots. Will go again, but hopefully they fix the traffic situation!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    272
    64
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great Zoo in the heart of the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was very impressed with the variety of animals that were at this Zoo. Gorillas, elephants giraffes, lions, tiger, grizzly bears, penguins (the real ones - not warm climate kinds), koalas and more! the staff was all very friendly and I was very happy to have visited the Zoo and the adjoining botanical garden was beautiful!
I particularly enjoyed feeding the lorikeets! such a fun experience!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

One of the best Zoo experiences you will ever have..........

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We absolutely loved our trip to Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden! We spent about 5 hours between both attractions and were able to see everything they had to offer!! The zoo animals were amazing to see and there are different events going on throughout the day were you can interact with the animals! You can witness the feeding of ~450lb Silverback Gorillas, feed the Giraffes (which was an awesome experience!), feed the goats at the barn and so much other cool things!! After you do all there is at the zoo, you can ride the Tram or walk to the botanical garden. If you are able, walk to the garden instead of taking the tram. It's only a short walk through the woods (it is a paved trail along the river) and there is so much nature to take in along the way! The botanical garden was amazing and you have to see it to believe it! There are so many cool plants to see and when they are in bloom, the smell is amazing not to mention beautiful! The attraction is great for kids and adults too!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos we've seen. Definitely take the tram to the botanical gardens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were extremely happy that we went to this zoo while visiting Columbia. It's a beautiful, clean and well-kept facility that is not too big and not too small. There is plenty of shade. Our 2.5 year old loved everything from the animals to the rides to the tram that took us to the botanical gardens to running through the sprinklers.

One of our favorite parts was feeding the (surprisingly very friendly!) giraffes. We also loved the botanical gardens and the very pretty tram ride over the river to get there.

Highly recommend to anyone looking for a fun day trip in the Columbia area!

**Check for discounted passes at your hotel, if applicable.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.