We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit old, but a pleasant stay and great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Asheville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit old, but a pleasant stay and great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

This Clarion is located downtown in a pretty good location. Walking distance (3 blocks) from the USC campus, a very short drive from a grocery store and Five Points, so it's convenient to most the downtown locations. The building and decor are quite traditional so if you have a preference for modern/trendy versus classic comfort, this hotel is definitely the latter. I had a free bump-up to the interior-hallway rooms on the 5th floor, which provide a nice view of the city. The bathroom and carpet could use freshening and renovating. The hotel full-service restaurant seems pleasant enough; the breakfast buffet is quite reasonable. Columbia doesn't seem to have any rules against train horns, so those can be heard occasionally at night. For the price/value though, it was pretty good and cheaper than most other downtown hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    31
    29
    24
See reviews for
34
20
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. The service was great, especially due to Veronica. She took care of me and my friend. The price was very affordable. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I am a White House reporter who wanted a few days of SC rest and relaxation. I arrived at the front desk of this hotel to find seven staff people arguing with one another. In addition to cursing and being vulgar, they had no intention of stopping their fight to tend to a guest attempting to check in. I was given a room key for a room that smelled of body odor, had a wet carpet, stains on the curtain, sheets, bathroom tile and in the bathtub itself. I immediately asked for a refund and was told that my credit card would not be billed. Well guess what? The lowlives charged my credit card anyway! Now I am trying to deal with a group of degenerates to get my money returned to my credit card, fearful that the staff may have taken the credit card number to use as they choose! Avoid this place like the PLAGUE! The people are as filthy as the place itself!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We found all of the staff to be very courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. Rooms very clean with comfortable beds.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My mom and I were in Columbia, SC for the grand opening of a friend's new business venture. Instead of making the 2 1/5 hour drive back home, we decided to stay overnight. I booked our room via Hot Wire at an incredible price. The hotel is in a great location and was very cozy. I was pleasantly surprised to find an doorman instead of a luggage rack. The doorman was very courteous and friendly. He was very helpful with assisting my mother, handling our luggage and getting ice for our room. The hotel is quaint and fill of character with its older decor. The room was very clean, the bed was really comfortable however the bathroom was small. I especially loved that checkout was at 11 a.m..

Stayed April 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitey18
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I will stay at this hotel every time I visit Columbia. Staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. I travel alot so when I stay at a hotel that is as memorable as this one, I take the time to let others know.From check-in till the time we checked out, the hotel staff made sure our stay there was great!The hotel provided all guest with a free van ride to the Vista in Downtown where my daughter and I had a wonderful time! Harald,our driver was so helpful and informative. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

I was on a trip to a conference held at the Clarion Downtown Hotel in Columbia, South Carolina. I missed my initial flight scheduled to arrive at 5pm and called the hotel at 3pm to inform them that I would be on a later flight arriving at 11pm. The office clerk informed me that the shuttle stops running at 10pm so I would need to take a taxi. So far so good. Little did I know that upon my arrival at 11pm my reservation was canceled. If it was not for the kind words, patience and professionalism of Veronica, Clarion Downtown would have lost not only my business in the future, but that of my university.

Recommended on the redeeming graces of Veronica.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Downtown

Address: 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Columbia
Clarion Columbia
Columbia Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.