We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Average Venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Downtown

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #62 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Very Average Venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I am staying this weekend at the Clarion Hotel Downtown. Now for those of you that follow my travels, you are aware that I am a very foo-foo type of traveler. For this trip, the accommodations were specified and I was not able to deviate my lodgings.

Let me say the positives up front as usual. It alway easy to bash a place but few people talk about the positives. And let's admit it that in every travel experience there is at least one positive.

Positives: The hotel staff is extremely polite, positive and ready to serve. They are friendly and accommodating. The front lobby is very nice and clean. Their on-site restaurant is decorated nicely and comfortably. The discounted group rate of $67.00 per night for a king sized room was reasonable. The outside pool is very clean and goes from 4ft. to 8ft which makes it great to exercise in. The king size bed was stupendous. I did not want to get out of it this morning to make my meeting.

Now for the negatives: Though the decor in the restaurant is very nice. The FOOD leaves a lot to be desired. Last night they were serving on their buffet, old looking fried chicken, some type of hash stew something or other, white rice with no butter or gravy, wilted string beans and a bland potatoe salad. All for a whapping $13.95 Plus tax. After looking every thing over, I walked a mile and ate a Long horns. That will be discussed in another review. I tried again this morning and ate breakfast in the restaurant. For 8.95 plus tax I got a breakfast buffet of bacon, grapes, cantalope and cold hash browns. They offered 3 types of cereal, skim milk, watery eggs, grits and again some of that hash stuff. Yuck.... Holiday Inn Take Me HOME>

Though the bed was great, the room overall was in very poor condition and small. I had requested a refrigerator 2 months ago. Upon check in the very friendly staff made sure one was procurred. However, upon getting the fridge, the deliver kind of waited around the room for a minute more than I though was cool, so I tipped him 5 bucks. Then he promptly left. SO I guess that was what he was waiting for.

You know how when you clean your old tub from back in the 70's and the dirt just won't get off the base of the tub where your feet go. Well that was what my tub in room 128 has. I had to put a bath towel down inside the tub for fear of getting hoof in mouth by stepping in it. The shower sorround has milde going up the walls and around the soap dish and behind the toilet. Gross. The Television is on of those old 26 inch tube tv's and the refrige that I tipped 5 bucks for seems like it came out of Sanford and Sons garage.

Overall, had I had a choice in my accommodations this time, I would not have stayed at the Clarion. Que Cera.

Room Tip: If you are not on a budget and If you are paying for your trip... Please go somewhere else. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    30
    24
    23
See reviews for
31
19
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Alyssa at the front desk was so incredible kind and sweet! Elizabeth was a wonderful Joy to talk with and helped me out a great deal! And to my surprise I got upgraded upon arrival to a $250 a night room, when I booked a $79 room!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Columbia, as the state capital of South Carolina, is small compared to say Atlanta, State capital of Georgia. So it is quite walkable and this hotel is suitably placed within 10 minutes of the Capitol building, the shops and restaurants. A bit dated but very friendly and welcoming. Suitable for shorter stays, 1-2 nights, as there's not a great amount to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Suitably placed in Columbia, this hotel offers good service and friendly staff. Many choices locally to eat and within walking distance. Rooms are a little tired but OK for one night. Beds comfy. Only saw one cockroach and it was soon dealt with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Clarion Hotel in downtown Columbia, SC is a well maintained, fully staffed, and centrally located for the traveler who enjoys the historic part of town. Yet, it is only a few miles from the interstate and more recent shopping areas as well as USC.
Our suite had a comfortable king sized bed, nice sofa, table and chairs and best of all, a large whirlpool bathtub. It was well lit and the temperature was always perfect.
Parking was available near the upstairs rooms, which had lights at every door making for a secure feeling.
All in all, a comfortable, clean, reasonably priced and safe place to stay in Columbia, SC.

Room Tip: Suites are a good value and area attractions packages are available when calling in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked 4 rooms for family for USC graduation for 3 nights. Rooms and facilities were good, clean, and price fair. A little dated but that was easily made up for by the staff. Staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was great. Had breakfast, dinner and Mom's day dinner - all food was EXCELLENT. We'd eat there even if we were staying elsewhere. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Located within a walking distance of USC.Has plenty of parking space.
Rooms are very dull and look very old and jaded- saw a few cockroaches miving around.
The furniture and the tv are from the past generation.Beds are soft and comfortable.There is no
Refrigerature provided but there is a coffee maker.
The breakfast is charged 9$ with coffee poured charged extra.
Free wifi internet is provide but you have to move around to check where you can get the reception.

Room Tip: Dont know if any room has any advantage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Downtown

Address: 1615 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Columbia
Clarion Columbia
Columbia Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.