We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean and pet friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 East Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29223   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 92 hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elon College, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good, clean and pet friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a clean, safe and pet friendly place to stay in Columbia, SC and we have found it. The TownPlace Suites fits the bill perfectly. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is clean and has plenty of natural areas to walk your dog. The rooms are very nice, comfortable. well appointed and clean. The price was also right. So if you come to Columbia with your pet or without him trying staying here. I think you will like it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jim W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott - Columbia SE/Fort Jackson. Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest, including our furry friends, experiences the best stay possible. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will be coming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    28
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
83
19
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed recently to pick daughter up from USC. Room was very clean. Loved the extra pillows. Breakfast was perfect. Great having a cup of coffee right away. Good to know they take pets for future visits. Will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: think ahead to ask for a 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Melissa S,
Thank you for your kind words about TownePlace Suites by Marriott - Columbia SE/Fort Jackson. Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest has the best stay possible and we're happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time staying here. And, this time wasn't any better then the first. Positive: employees are super nice. Great amenities in room. Negative: they gave us a room next to a stair case. So noisy!!! I need to learn to ask not to be next to a stairway. We were on second floor, room 224. People upstairs woke us up early because they were so loud walking around. Even though we were facing parking lot, traffic noise from 77 was still loud. Pillows were uncomfortable. And, there was black mold on the bottom of the shower curtain liner.

We stayed here on points and I am glad we didn't pay for it.

Nice having a waffle house next door for late night eating before heading to room. There's also a panera bread down the street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Shannon4444,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We take customer comments seriously and you can rest assured I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate employees or department heads. We try to put our guests away from the interstate and stairwells whenever possible because these can bother light sleepers, but sometimes that is unavoidable due to higher occupancy. We are continually working to improve our staff and our services and hope you will come back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently for a college tour at USC and picked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. Room was very clean and comfortable. The free breakfast had several choices. Didn't try the pool this trip. Location to USC is great. Will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Patrick417,
Thank you for your kind words about TownePlace Suites by Marriott - Columbia SE/Fort Jackson! We are conveniently located at Exit 9A on I-77 at Garners Ferry Road (US 378) and we are only about 5 miles from USC and downtown Columbia. The staff at TownePlace Suites works hard to ensure every guest has the best experience possible and I'm glad we were successful in that for you. We are always happy to have the familes and friends of our USC students and soldiers from Fort Jackson stay with us for visits or longer stays. Thank you for choosing TownePlace Suites by Marriott as your home in Columbia! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Second time I stayed there. It was consistent as the first. Friendly, clean and very comfortable. Staff was very accommodating. I give this hotel *****!
I love that they take pets :). Great breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Jeanne C,
Thank you for your kind words about TownePlace Suites by Marriot - Columbia SE/Fort Jackson! Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. We try our best to embody true "Southern Hospitality" and do whatever it takes to make your stay pleasant. While we are designed for longer term stays, we are able to accomodate short stays guests as well and we love repeat guests! Thank you so much for making TownePlace Suites by Marriott - Columbia SE/Fort Jackson your hotel of choice in the Columbia/Fort Jackson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about 48 days and each day the staff made it feel like home. The daily refresh services of my room didn't leave me worrying that my personal belongings would be tampered with. The staff was always courteous and very accomodating. I asked for a full size body mirror and received one, even when I thought my request was maybe a little far fetched. The breakfast bar area and common area always remained neat and clean as well as the laundry and fitness area. Definately recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Columbia / FT Jackson area or just driving through Columbia on a road trip. I doubt they will dissappoint!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sheree J,
Thank you for your kind words about TownePlace Suites by Marriott - Columbia SE/Fort Jackson! As you know our brand is designed for those longer-than-normal stays, for guests that need a little extra room, or for guests that want a full kitchen so they can save a little money on food costs while traveling. Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I chose this hotel because it had a two bedroom suite with a living area and small kitchen. I thought this would be a perfect place to bring our new Army graduate for visiting with relatives. While the staff were courteous and professional and the grounds well kept, the furniture in the rooms was shabby and worn. The hotel is wedged up among several other hotels, apartments and the freeway making the location most unattractive. I was embarrassed to bring guests back to the hotel room. If you are expecting an "extended stay" hotel I think you will be happy with this choice.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator and in the back away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Beckyleedavis,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. The staff of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson works hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. Our ownership is aware of the excessive wear issues with the furniture in some of our two bedroom suites and we are in the process of replacing that furniture. The two bedroom suites are very popular with families visiting for Fort Jackson graduation and see a lot of use. We work to ensure that they are clean and comfortable for every guest. Our location was chosen because it is convenient to area interstates, shopping, downtown Columbia and Fort Jackson. While this may not be appealing to everyone, our location does provide easy access to those things most requested by our guests. The TownePlace Suites by Marriott brand is designed as an extended stay brand and we are very proud that it has been selected to be the number one mid-scale extended stay brand by Business Travel News for the past two years. All our rooms include a kitchen with a full size refrigerator, stove or cook top, microwave and dish washer to make hotel living easier for those who need space and the ability to feel more at home while away from home. Again, I appreciate you taking time to write a review of our hotel and hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson

Address: 250 East Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#8 Family Hotel in Columbia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Columbia, SC, you'll love the neighborhood-style living and great value of the new TownePlace Suites Columbia Fort Jackson. Our all-suite, extended stay Columbia, South Carolina hotel is minutes from Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina - home of the Gamecocks. We're also near Colonial Center, Williams-Brice Stadium, and the SC State Fair. Here on business? Our Columbia, SC hotel is close to Shaw Air Force Base, Providence Hospitals, McEntire Joint National Guard Base, Sysco, and the Dorn VA Medical Center. Every suite features complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens, 32" flat-screen HD TVs, and luxurious bedding. Start each day with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Make yourself at home in our pool or fitness room, on our sport court, or in our BBQ/patio area. And bring your pet - we're a pet-friendly hotel! Few hotels in Columbia, SC can beat our warm hospitality, so book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Columbia Se/Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Towneplace Suites Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.