We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stopover with pets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 East Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29223   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great stopover with pets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was very pet friendly, which was important. The breakfast was great and the rooms were comfortable and clean. also near to restaurants and close to highway Our dog loved the view from the window and the tray for her food, which was raised( great for a big dog)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear roxanne286,
Thank you for your kind words about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson! Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible, including our furry friends. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our rooms ar 30% larger than our competition to help you feel more at home and provide space for longer stays. This is also helpful when you have children or pets! We hope you will come back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    44
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
103
25
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This must be one of the best hotel suites that my husband and I have stayed in over the years, and at a VERY reasonable price. Large living room area. There is a FULL kitchen - full sized refrig, stove, dishes. The bathroom is a nice separate room with a door that can be closed. Complimentary breakfast was ample and wonderful.
We were lucky to have reserved our room 3 weeks ahead of time; a week later, it was fully booked. It is located 5 miles from the base (Ft Jackson), so many family members come for graduation ceremonies, etc.
The hotel was full, but the guests were all very polite. The hotel was prepared for all the people; didnt run even low on breakfast. Desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear piccpete,
Thank you for your kind words! My staff and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible. TownePlace Suites by Marriott is designed for extended stays, but we are always happy to have guests for one or two nights, as well. Our suites are 30% larger than our competitors and we provide the tools you need to feel at home. It is our goal that you feel at home while staying with us and that you want to return to TownePlace Suites by Marriott on your next visit to our area. Again, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights recently to attend my son's graduation from Fort Jackson. It's a great place and we would definitely stay again. Only 15 minutes from the base. Room was nice, we enjoyed the fridge and microwave. Staff was very helpful and friendly; from providing us with extra towels and blankets, to recommending restaurants, and giving us a late checkout. Breakfast had a lot of different foods to choose from eggs, bagels yogurt fresh fruit and lots more. We would definitely stay here again. Near lots of restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear deb3307,
Thank you for your kind words! The staff of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia/Fort Jackson works hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We provide rooms that are 30% larger than our competitors and include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and cooking surface. It is our goal to embody true "Southern Hospitality" and we hope you will stay with us again upon your next visit to the Columbia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at the Towne PLace Suites in Columbia SE / Fort Jackson for one night on a business trip. I didn't spend much time in my room but enough time where I can honestly say that I would stay here again without thinking twice about it. Check in was seemless and friendly. My room was very well appointed. This hotel is rather new and the kitchen is actually one you could cook in. I checked out the cookware, utensils etc and there's everything you need to prepare a meal. This would come in handy when heading down south for a trip with the family or for extended business trips when you get to the point that you're sick of dining out. My bed was comfortable and there's a lot of storgae space if you need to unpack and stay awhile. They have an outdoor pool and a small exercise facility. They offer a free continental breakfast but I opted for a ham and cheese omelette at the Waffle House which is right around the corner. That brings me to my last point, which is that this hotel is right off route 77 at exits 9a-9b. This is great because it's so much easier to get to the other side of Columbia on 77.

Don't forget to try the local bbq. South Carolina mostly uses a mustard based bbq sauce on pork and it's really good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear NewYorkDon67,
Thank you for your kind words! The staff of TownePlace Suites Columbia/Fort Jackson works very hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. We try to embody the term "Southern Hospitality" and make our guests feel at home. You are correct that our suites are designed for those guests that need more space as our rooms are 30% larger than standard hotel rooms. We provide the cookware and utensils so that you can prepare your own meals in your room, if you desire, or we can recommend some local favorites, including some great South Carolina style barbeque. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

By far the best hotel we have stayed at so far, and the staff was excellent! They really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. We enjoyed the extras the hotel had to offer, like a beautiful outside gas firepit where this time of the year anybody can enjoy a glass of wine under the beautiful stars and keep warm, we did that everynight!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear bethzaidar,
Thank you for your kind comments. At TownePlace Suites Columbia/Fort Jackson we work hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. Our employees are always glad to assist you in any way possible. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware Shoals, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the TownePlace while visiting my son at Fort Jackson for Graduation. It is very well located to Fort Jackson and the surrounding area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was also very well maintained and cleaned. I had booked a double queen room and was upgraded at no additional charge to a suite. This worked well since there are 3 people in my party; this allowed everyone to have their own space (and TV to watch). The kitchen was very nice (even though we didn’t need it). It would be a great room to stay for long term but also for a overnight trip. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of setting. I will stay there again if I am in that area again!

Room Tip: The hotal is right off of I-77 but you would never know it. Also ask for a "high floor room&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Bonnie B,
Thank you for your kind words! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at TownePlace Suites Columbia/Fort Jackson. Our staff work hard to ensure that every guest has the best stay possible. We are glad you chose our hotel and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at a TownePlace Suites and it will be my go to hotel in the future. Having a kitchen and sofa just makes the stay more homey. The location was perfect - easy on and off I-77, and was attractive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Deni T.,
Thank you for your kind words! TownePlace Suites is designed for guests who need more space - our rooms are 30% larger than most hotel rooms. My staff and I work hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice in Columbia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson

Address: 250 East Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29223
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Columbia, SC, you'll love the neighborhood-style living and great value of the new TownePlace Suites Columbia Fort Jackson. Our all-suite, extended stay Columbia, South Carolina hotel is minutes from Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina - home of the Gamecocks. We're also near Colonial Center, Williams-Brice Stadium, and the SC State Fair. Here on business? Our Columbia, SC hotel is close to Shaw Air Force Base, Providence Hospitals, McEntire Joint National Guard Base, Sysco, and the Dorn VA Medical Center. Every suite features complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens, 32" flat-screen HD TVs, and luxurious bedding. Start each day with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Make yourself at home in our pool or fitness room, on our sport court, or in our BBQ/patio area. And bring your pet - we're a pet-friendly hotel! Few hotels in Columbia, SC can beat our warm hospitality, so book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Columbia Se/Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Towneplace Suites Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.