We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Columbia, South Carolina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1913 Huger Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay in Columbia, South Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was the first time we have stayed in a Staybridge Suites. It was fantastic! The moment you walk through the door, you are greeted by a great staff at the front desk. They were welcoming, knowledgable, helpful and always friendly. The facilities are excellent, extremely clean, wonderful salt water pool and a great breakfast is provided every morning. I would recommend this location without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Bjtravel2014,
Welcome to the Staybridge Suites Family! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first experience at a Staybridge Suites and appreciate the kind words about our friendly team, clean rooms and unique amenities. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our Columbia hotel to fellow travelers. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    53
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
121
25
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here prior to a college visit to USC. Picked it off expedia.com. Had a suite with 2 rooms, including a kitchenette. Clean and pleasant --- bed wasn't great and pullout was, well, a pullout. Free breakfast was excellent. Pool is fine. Would definitely stay here again. Very easy to find and close enough to campus and food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
John H,
A special thanks to you and your family for choosing to stay with us at the Staybridge Suites Columbia. We truly appreciate the kind words about our spacious suites, clean hotel and complimentary breakfast buffet. We hope you had a wonderful time visiting the USC college campus! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a great hotel. It is very closely situated to USC which was a necessity for us. The rooms were spacious, well appointed, and clean. The bed and the bedding was super comfortable. The grill area was nice. They ran out of propane but had back up and replaced it right away! The morning breakfast was ample and delicious. Our go to is the waffles but there was quite the variety to choose from. We will definitely be staying here again.

One and only complaint...depending on the direction you are arriving at the hotel from getting over can be hazardous. Other than that it was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
gallagherfamily29466,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Staybridge Suites while you were visiting the University of South Carolina. We truly appreciate the kind words about our spacious rooms, comfortable beds and delicious complimentary breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
851 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in March for a speech and debate tournament at Columbia College. This was our first time ever staying at a Staybridge, I actually like the chain. The hotel was very nice. Our suite was nice with comfortable beds. Breakfast was also good. My only negative is the hotel is hard to get to if you are coming off the main strip from the downtown area, when you come off the main strip, you immediately have to get in the right lane, because the turn into the hotel is a few feet in front of you. Also another thing I would like to point out is the river side of the hotel. It's a great view, but at the very bottom of the hill is some railroad tracks. We sleep with sleep machines and at night with the machine on, I can still hear the engine pass by. Also when we checked out and were packing up, another train came by and it blew its whistle and I did hear it. So overall, I still love the hotel, and I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Caleb J,
A special thanks to you and your family for joining us at the Staybridge Suites while you were in town for a speech and debate tournament at Columbia College. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the kind words about our nice suites, comfortable beds, and complimentary breakfast buffet. In addition, we appreciate the feedback about our location and the train tracks. Our goal is to provide a quiet atmosphere for each and every hotel guest, so we are truly sorry for any inconvenience that you experienced on this particular visit. Thanks again for all of your time. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Welcome to the Staybridge family!
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Staybridge Suites has been my go-to hotel since staying at one in Portland, Oregon years back.

The room was large with a full kitchen. It included a coffee maker with one 4-cup package each of regular and decaf coffee. There was an ample supply of creamers and sugars.

One great item was the fitted bottom sheet on the king size bed. Many hotels don't do that anymore and since I am a tall person I appreciated not rubbing my feet against a bare mattress!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
MikeInPennsylvania,
Thank you very much for this kind review! We are so glad to hear that Staybridge Suites is your hotel of choice and really appreciate the kind words about our hotel in Columbia, SC. We hope that you had a wonderful time exploring Columbia with your family and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here before on a business trip. My second visit a month later surprised me with a Cinco de Mayo buffet dinner. But that is not all. Dinner is now served daily(Wine included)!!! It is not a steak n lobster type of hype, but it beats any fast food around, and surely beats any local restaurant's dinner bill in the area.
Clean, super spacious rooms, with full kitchen (standard). Handicap rooms are even larger. Friendly staff with no-nonsense attitude.
Already told my business agent to book this hotel for me for my future trips to Columbia.

Can't go wrong by staying here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Fee551,
Thank you very much for making us your home away from home in Columbia, South Carolina! We are so glad to hear that you were able to join us for one of our evening socials, held Monday - Thursday nights for hotel guests. We appreciate the kind words about our spacious guest rooms and friendly team. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

positives- kitchen in the room, good breakfast and allowed us to check in half hour early
negatives- cold indoor pool, sort of hard bed, not cleaned very well and furniture in the room was worn and dated. slightly over priced for what it offers. I would probably not recommend this hotel unless u absolutely can't go without a kitchen. oh yeah if u do stay here request a room on the back side not the main street side because u will hear cars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
hanklane98,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words about the full kitchen featured in each guest room, our complimentary breakfast buffet and our smooth check in process. We generally keep our indoor pool at 83 degrees. We had to repair our pool heater and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused during your stay. The pool should be back up to a comfortable temperature at this time. Thank you for your patience while we fixed the problem. In the future, please let us know if you encounter any problems during your stay. Our goal is to offer spotless, comfortable accommodations to each and every hotel guest. If your guest room does not meet these high standards, we will do our best to solve the problem immediately or find a new room to better meet your travel needs. Thanks again for your time and feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown
1.5 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
#8 of 93 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Columbia

Address: 1913 Huger Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Columbia
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful and spacious all-suites hotel is designed to provide all the comforts of home. Our spacious Studio Suite, One-Bedroom Suite, and Two-Bedroom Suite all include a sleeper sofa beds, and fully-equipped upscale kitchens with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. Our accommodations make an ideal choice for temporary housing and short term accommodations as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Staybridge Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.