We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1913 Huger Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed there for a week. The beds are super comfy. The kitchen is very nice. The shower was interesting. The bedroom was very large but the living/kitchen space was small. Staff was friendly.
The downside to stay here is trying to get in and out. It is located on a major downtown road right off the in town interstate. Very hard to get in and during rush hour traffic in the morning, you either have to be very brave to get out or wait on someone who is stopped to let you out. The location was very convenient to downtown Columbia and the Vista.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Heather K,

Thank you very much for your four star review about the Staybridge Suites Columbia. We appreciate the compliments about our comfortable beds, full kitchens, large bedrooms, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to downtown, the Vista, and popular local attractions, but we are sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulty leaving the parking lot. We would like to thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites for your weeklong visit to Columbia, South Carolina. We really appreciate the business and hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again soon.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    45
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
112
22
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed he for a swim meet at USC. Great hotel. Very clean the beds were really comfortable. The staff at this hotel are fantastic. They were helpful and patient With all the kids. Got someone in early to get breakfast started early since we had to be at the pool early. We will be staying here again.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Chris K,

Thank you very much for your five star review about the Staybridge Suites Columbia. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us while you were in town for the swim meet at the University of South Carolina. We really appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms and fantastic staff. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet early in the morning, before heading to the pool! We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at Staybridge this past Wednesday night for a work trip. I was fairly impressed with the experience. The bed was comfortable, the room was huge, and the extra amenities such as "The Social" (evening manager reception) really knocked it out of the park. Who can complain when there is free beer, right? The breakfast was also very good which says a lot in my opinion. Pretty much all of the hotels of this calibre (and less) offer free breakfast, but the quality is varying. I really enjoyed the selection here as well as the Wolfgang Puck coffee. And I'm not usually a coffee drinker!

I will note a few things that might need improvement though. The shower stalls are such that you're going to get the bathroom floor soaked. I think a full screen is in order. Also the pillows are rather strange...small feather pillows. They were just weird. Finally I had difficulty getting the room temperature right. The A/C was on when I arrived. It was getting chilly outside, so I turned on the heat. Well it felt like cold air was blowing out of the vents. I had to crank the temperature up in order to the room warm.

Otherwise, I really enjoyed my stay. The only downside of this hotel is its location--marooned down Huger Street and impossible to walk to the Vista. :-(

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the parking lot were very quiet. But the hotel seemed pretty sound proof in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear oldhousejunkie,

Thank you very much for the four star review about the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, comfortable beds, and added amenities including the evening manager receptions during the week. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our full breakfast buffet and Wolfgang Puck coffee. While we really appreciate your compliments, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We want to thank you for bringing the inconveniences that you experienced to our attention. Guests are in fact able to adjust the room temperature in their room. If you have any difficulties in the future, please contact the front desk staff immediately so that they can assist you with the room temperature. Although it was easier to drive to the Vista, we hope that you were able to walk to the beautiful Riverwalk that is located just minutes from our hotel. It is our goal to ensure that guests enjoy the overall guest experience, and it is feedback likes yours that allows to improve and better serve our future guests. We have taken your constructive criticism to heart and shared this review with our team so that we can make any necessary changes. Again, we appreciate all of your time and hope that you will choose to stay with us during your next trip to Columbia.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked several rooms (King Studios, 1-Bedroom Suites, 2-Bedroom Suites) for a Friday wedding at the Lace House. Even though there was a SC Gamecocks home football game on Saturday and the hotel was booked to capacity, the level of service that we received was exceptional. Our group enjoyed the complimentary week-day light dinners and refreshment offerings as well as the complimentary breakfast buffet. We appreciated the variety in selection as there were different food items each day. This hotels location is very convenient to major Interstates and roadways which made it very easy for our guests to explore and enjoy the downtown Columbia restaurants and stores. The Vista and Five Points areas, the University of SC campus, the Riverbanks Zoo and Gardens, the Governor's Mansion and the Historical District were all sights our group visited. Above all, the staff was very pleasant, friendly, helpful and professional. We would highly recommend this Staybridge Suites Columbia Downtown.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the highway are slightly noisier than the rooms overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mary K,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review about the Staybridge Suites Downtown Columbia. We hope that you had an excellent time at the wedding, celebrating with family and friends. We appreciate your kind words about the complimentary reception that we hold Tuesday - Thursday evenings. We always try to mix up the menu and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. It is also great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location by visiting so many of Columbia’s wonderful attractions. I look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. They will be delighted to hear this review! We hope you will join us again at the Staybridge Suites!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights October 16-18, with my 3 children while attending the Fort Jackson graduation. This hotel exceeded my expectations. It was spotless, and I am a clean freak. Breakfast was ample and the weekday dinner reception was tasty and included beer and wine. This hotel pays attention to the eatils that help make a stay more comfortable, such as pillow type choices, mini library and free DVD rental. Not a huge selection, but something for everyone. Free laundry facilities. The rooms are very spacious and the kitchen has everything you need to prepare simple meals. With the dinner reception, I only did so once, but it was hassle free. The only negative comment I have is the small size and high chlorination level of the pool. All in all great! A good price for a great stay!

Room Tip: This hotel is an easy 10-15 minutes from Fort Jackson. I would highly recommend it for those attendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Marianc324,

Thank you very much for the five star review. We really appreciate the positive feedback regarding our clean rooms, ample breakfast, and tasty dinner reception. We take pride in our hotel amenities, and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the DVD rentals, mini library, and free laundry facilities. Our team works very hard to ensure that guests enjoy their stay at the Staybridge Suites Columbia and they will be delighted to hear your positive feedback. Thanks again for all of your time. We really appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Staybridge Columbia for a swim meet at USC.
Check-in was quick, easy, and very pleasant. Rooms were very spacious and the beds VERY comfortable. Even numbered rooms are next to the highway and there was a bit of traffic noise, but putting the HVAC fan on continuous blocked the noise completely.
Late checkout was also easy to arrange. Melanie, the Front Office Manager was always available and her staff were always pleasant.
There was a slight billing error on one of our rooms, but they quickly made the correction when brought to their attention.

Room Tip: Ask for odd numbered rooms (on the front side of the hotel) to avoid highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Robert F,

Thank you very much for the five star review! We really appreciate the kind words about our quick check in process, spacious guest rooms, and comfortable beds. Melanie and the rest of our team were absolutely delighted to hear the positive feedback in your review. Thank you for bringing the billing error immediately to our attention and for being patient while we fixed the problem. We encourage all of our guests to contact the front desk immediately with any questions or concerns so that our team can assist you. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some noise during this particular visit and want to thank you for sharing this feedback with our team. It is feedback like yours that allows us to make improvements for future guests and we truly value your time. We hope to see you again soon at the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We reserved a 2BR suite for 6 of us that were in Columbia for the weekend. We were all impressed with the spaciousness, cleanliness, and quality of the room. It was more expensive than we would normally spend, but when divided among 6 in our group, it was very reasonable.

Also my inquiries about the hotel were answered promptly by the hotel manager, who allowed us to park at the hotel the morning of our arrival, even though we wouldn't be checking in until later in the day. It really made coordinating our arrival and the day's activities so much easier.

The hotel is easy to get to if you are coming off the I-126 ramp. If you are coming from downtown, the left turn into the entrance can be tricky, since you have cars coming from two off ramps onto Huger St.

Room Tip: The 2BR suite (King, 2 Queens) was quite spacious, can accomodate up to 8 guests, and has 2 bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear BillyB32

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a five star review about the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us and appreciate the kind words about our clean guest rooms and helpful staff members. Our team works very hard to provide excellent customer service and comfortable accommodations to each and every one of our guests. They will be delighted to hear your positive review. In addition, we appreciate the feedback about accessing our hotel parking lot. We hope that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to I-126 and various local attractions. We apologize if the left hand turn caused any inconveniences during your visit. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed the spacious two bedroom suite and hope that you will visit us again soon at the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Columbia

Address: 1913 Huger Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful and spacious all-suites hotel is designed to provide all the comforts of home. Our spacious Studio Suite, One-Bedroom Suite, and Two-Bedroom Suite all include a sleeper sofa beds, and fully-equipped upscale kitchens with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. Our accommodations make an ideal choice for temporary housing and short term accommodations as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.