We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Very Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Columbia Marriott to your Saves list
Columbia Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overall Very Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

There are many really great things about this hotel: the staff are friendly and helpful, the parking is convenient, and the restaurant is excellent. The rooms were a bit small, but everything was clean, and for the most part, the hotel was very quiet. If you are interested in getting souvenirs or a great meal, head down Main Street a couple of blocks - Mast General Store is a wonderful place to get those gifts for family/friends or clothes/shoes/knick knacks for yourself. Overall, I had a great time at this hotel. The only minus was the pool, which was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear chatto,

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comments about the Marriott Columbia with the TripAdvisor community. My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are very happy to read that you enjoyed visit. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon. Have safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    122
    68
    30
    13
See reviews for
88
45
28
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was really impressed when I walked in because the General Manager and Front Office Manager were in the lobby assisting guest with the elevator and greeting everyone so nicely. This was around 5pm that day. I know the manager have a lot of them, but to see them "get in the field" sort to speak with their staff means a lot. The General manager even asked where I was from. The customer service representative Chynna was very professional. She always is pleasant and extremely professional. In fact, I plan on staying here again 2 more weeks when I come back to Columbia, SC. I was so impressed with the cleaniliness of the room as well as the Concierge lounge. The fitness room has complimentary fruit and water. I've never seen that at any hotel. I was extremely impressed with this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Jessica H,

Thank you so much for the kind words, lobby time is definitely my favorite part of my job. I love having the opportunity to meet our guests and welcome them to our beautiful hotel and city. I am most happy to read that you found the hotel to be very clean, this is our highest priority. I hope I am waiting for you in the lobby upon your next return to the Marriott Columbia.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel because of a wedding we were attending there. We requested early check in with extra towels and pillows. I am pleased to say that we were allowed to check in early and we had everything extra we requested. The hotel is very beautiful (we stayed on the 10th floor) and the wedding was awesome.We spent a lot of time at the pool the next day and it was awesome also. Everyone at the hotel was extra friendly and always made sure we were ok and had everything we needed. The only thing I regret is that they did not have a free breakfast or a refrigerator/microwave in the room like the other hotels we normally stay at however, I could live with that. I would definitely stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Courtney_A_2011,

My team and I thank you for choosing to stay with us for your wedding weekend. We very much appreciate you posting such nice comments on TripAdvisor regarding your experience. I have heard great feedback from the Wedding party regarding their event in our ballroom as well. Thank you again for staying with us, I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We are Hilton Diamond and Marriott Silver members. I have stayed in all of the downtown Columbia Hilton properties and I dislike all of them (see my reviews). I loved this Marriott and this will now be where I stay when in Columbia. Clean, modern lobby, easy garage parking, nicely appointed rooms, very polite staff, nice bar/restaurant, good pool area with whirlpool, fitness center and outdoor sun deck. This was a nice place for business trip or to bring a family. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear J D,

You have officially posted my favorite review of all for the Marriott Columbia! based on your profile, you obviously are a savvy traveler and know quality. It is flattering to be compared favorably to the Hilton Columbia, they are quite nice as well. I am excited to share your comments with our team and celebrate their efforts. J.D., thank you for choosing to stay with us and please reach out to me next time your are in town.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We missed the breakfast as we slept in. Room was nice. Could use a few more than just two towels though in the room.
Used the pool and outside sun area and all was nice.
But, we made it to lunch in the restaurant, and it was AWESOME!
Holy cow. My other half had the award winning, trophy out front, shrimp and grits. I had for my first time, the chicken and waffles and it was AWESOME TOO!!!
Very good good!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear MatthewBlase,

Wow, I really love reading your review of the Marriott Columbia and Midlands! Our team has worked very hard to build a great destination restaurant that happens to be located in a hotel. I agree, the Shrimp and Grits and the Chicken and Waffles are both amazing and award winning. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and celebrate their efforts. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely entry to the hotel and staff was great. Small glitch while checking in with our room and keys but the staff fixed it right away. The restaurant was great and not overly priced like some hotels can be. They gave us other dining options and were great to say they tried them all themselves. But we decided to stay in and relax at the hotel and it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Colleen D,

My team and I thank you very much for choosing to stay with us in Columbia. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Midlands and Rocks while you were here. Your comments are very appreciated and flattering. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon and wish you safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently spent the night at this property. The room was well appointed and up to Marriott standards. Very clean and welcoming. The great bed afforded a wonderful night's sleep not to mention the down pillows and lots of them. Easy in and out, covered parking with direct hotel access and a friendly staff. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Alex C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such nice comments about the Marriott Columbia Downtown. I will share your feedback with the team and celebrate a job well done. My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon. Safe Travels!

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#15 of 93 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
#6 of 93 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Address: 1200 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#15 Family Hotel in Columbia
#20 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Columbia Marriott hotel, located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. Our hotel offers some of the finest accommodations in Columbia, SC. To meet our guests' needs, the Columbia Marriott hotel has remodeled guest rooms, the lobby, meeting space, and the restaurant and bar. Stay with us and you'll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. The 28,000 square feet of space makes our downtown hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions in Columbia, SC. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, Riverbanks Zoo, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena and Williams Brice Stadium, our downtown hotel is close to popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.