We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in 80s” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Columbia Marriott to your Saves list
Columbia Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
charleston, sc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stuck in 80s”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Housekeeping, Restaurant wait staff/grill attendent were very accomodating, I didn't care for bird flying around my table, but at least it never shared my breakfast. The bellmen very helpful and courteous ~ the rooms desperately needed updating, furniture, bedding,bathroom were all old style. No parking lot security ~ my husband was even concerned about walking thru after dark. Covenient location to hospital, but then so is the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Location and staff ~ great, but due to the rates I would NOT go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
While it seems our staff and location made parts of your stay very enjoyable, we do regret that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. We strive to ensure that each and every guest leaves feeling that their experience was not cookie cutter, but personalized, and we would love another opportunity to do just that with you. It would be our hope that you would consider staying with us again if you are ever in the Columbia area again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    99
    53
    28
    11
See reviews for
70
34
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheraw, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed in a Jr. suite. It was perfect for a over night stop. The King size bed is in its own room with a door and then there is a nice living area with pull-out couch. They brought us a roll-away for our 13 yr old son, and our 16 & 10 yr old daughters shared the pull-out. It was a little tight, but worked just great. The room was nice and clean and had a view of the city. We would definately stay at this hotel again. A huge pool and gym on the second level of the hotel. Very nice!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottColumbia, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
It’s wonderful that the layout of our Jr. Suite gave you the privacy and functionality that you were looking for. We’re thrilled that the Columbia Marriott was able to provide you and your family with an exceptional experience and hope the next time you are able to stay with us will be for more than just one night. With so many amazing museums and attractions close by, your family will have no problem creating lasting memories of your time together. Thank you for your review and hurry back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The staff was excellent on our recent stay. The rooms were a bit on the small side and prefer queen beds over double, but was fine for our family of 3. Nice space in the lobby for our group to mingle. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Columbia is not a vacation mecca, if you're coming here, it's probably for business. It is in a convenient downtown location and the staff saves the place. My room had been repainted twice that I could tell from the spatters on the window sill that no one had bothered to clean up. It is adequate for conventions but aside from that, has little else to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd # room (even rooms low stare at another building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Nice place to stay with friendly staff. Convienent dowtown location

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I booked the Columbia Marriott for a recent business trip to Columbia, SC. I was warmly greeted by the friendly, professional valet named John Cameron (yes I get names of great folks). He quickly had me at the front desk where Gray checked me in. Super nice guy who couldn't have been faster or friendlier. This is a beautiful hotel and it has a fun, welcoming feel to it. My room was perfect as with most all Marriotts. Later that evening I had a great dinner while listening to a marvelous piano player named Jerry who took requests and soothed away the stress from the day. Food was fabulous!

I recommend this hotel because of how well it's kept and how upbeat everyone seems to be. I even enjoyed talking to Cecelia who I think might have been a housekeeping manager of sorts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Columbia Marriott tries really hard to be a three star hotel. The lobby is gorgeous but the rooms are just decent. Beds were comfortable, room adequate. Nothing special. Staff was wonderful. We asked for extra pillows and blankets and they did come. But one of the pillows had blood stains on it - needless to say it was placed on the floor and left there! We notified staff in the morning and other than apologies, we got nothing. Parking is free on the weekends if you use the street. Otherwise $12 for self park, $22 for valet. Steep in my opinion. Great location, easy access to everything. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Address: 1200 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia
#17 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.