We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punjabi Dhaba

Punjabi Dhaba
1201 Bush River Rd, Columbia, SC 29210-7533
803-798-8011
Improve this listing
Ranked #317 of 840 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The building isn't much to look at and it is not located anywhere near the Vista so some dining snobs may never get a chance to experience Punjabi Dhaba. We found the restaurant to be clean, the servers friendly and attentive and the food was not only delicious but served in more than ample quantities. The sampler appetizer, lots of garlic nan and shrimp korma were all very tasty. I look forward to dining there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    3
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, SC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“don't know how authentic, but we like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The buffet is a good price at $7.99 or so, and has a good variety. The menu is plentiful. Restrooms are not very nice or clean, but haven't been plagued by cockroaches like some other diners have.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Inexpensive with a great Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are some relly excellent Indian resteraunts now in this area. I prefer this one for the excellent choices on the buffet with excellent prices. Also one of the better Indian buffets, being a Brit I have tried them all. my children also enjoy the buffet. Jy wife prefers to eat of the menu and have naver had a complaint- Older run down building but many great Indian resteraunts are just like that. Husband and wife who run the establishment are always attentive. Usually visit about twice a month

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

So delicious! I could not eat enough. Being a vegetarian, I appreciated that they had the dishes separated on the buffet. Everything was clean, so I question the cockroach comment truthfully.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The buffet was so good over there .my kids love tandoori chicken and garlic naan.All staff are very friendly.i love the atmosphere over there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjabi Dhaba also viewed

 

Been to Punjabi Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punjabi Dhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.