We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy at St. Pats” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delaney's Irish Pub

Delaney's Irish Pub
741 Saluda Avenue, Columbia, SC 29205
803-779-2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 858 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Busy at St. Pats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited Delany's during the St Patrick festivities at Five Points. The place is very crowded and there was a Scottish band playing outside. The bar food is good and the staff was very busy pouring drinks but able to keep up the orders. Although they have many craft beers to sell we found the house cabernet to be better than any other place in town. It was noisy, probably due to St Patrick's, I nice place to stop at.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cool Hang Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This pub is located in an area known as 5-points. They have a good selection of beer and the food was very good. We ordered some fried pickles, sandwiches, and wings and were pleased. Employees were really cool and the crowd was an older college crowd. We visited on a Sunday night while in SC on business. It would be good to have some louder music playing, but we were cool just hanging out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Ditto on the "just alright"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a disappointment! Had been eagerly looking forward to my return trip for the fish and chips that I wrote about in December, so was really disappointed with our visit a few days ago. I guess, in the restaurant business, two months is a long time, because something's changed here. Don't know whether the food manager changed or the chef, but, the fish and chips we had in December were completely different than what was served last week. Such a shame too, as they're just a pleasant memory now.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food was alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with my finance en route from Tampa, Fl to Greenville, Sc. We had the fried pickle chips, fish and chips, and Guinness stout stew. Service was good. We were both in agreement that the food was just alright. The stew came in a very anemic looking bread bowl - it was toasted but you couldn't tell by looking at it, it was so pale. The fry on the fish was slightly overdone and nothing special. I MUST disagree that they have, as one reviewer put it, the best fish and chips. They do face some stiff competition though in my book as I know of 2 restaurants in the Tampa area that serve perfect fish and chips, including our fav Irish pub that fries in real lard, so...maybe this is the best Columbia has to offer, but I will probably never know. That said, as I commented to my fiance, "we may have been better served food wise going to that bbq place we considered, but then we couldn't have gotten Guinness and hard cider on tap". So, in short, the drinks were good, the staff friendly, the service quick, but the food... just alright. 

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We didn't have a link to Trip Advisor, or we probably wouldn't have eaten here, based on past reviews. We didn't, however, so just walked in, and are glad we did! We had the fish and chips and the house special sirloin steak, and both were excellent. The fish and chips were different from the English style, but were just as good, and, for the price, truly outstanding! The house sirloin was a treat, and the vegetables that came with it were very good. The portions were very large, so we basically split the fish and chips, and ate some of the steak and took the rest home. In talking with the bartender, Delaney's hired a new food manager in the summer, so, if the review on TA dates from this summer or before, I'd have to say they're out of date. Their Shephard's Pie is supposed to be one of their best dishes and they also have corned beef and cabbage on the menu, so we'll be back soon to try them! If you go on Monday nights (at least for December), it gets even better - buy one, get one free, so you just pay for the higher priced entree and get the 2nd one free! Throw in happy at the bar from 4 to 7, and this place is hard to beat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaney's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Delaney's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delaney's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.